In Defense of Cursed Child

Warning: This will contain Cursed Child Spoilers. Read at your own risk.

I’ve already posted my mind-blowing Cursed Child theory / revelation, and my official review of the script itself, and now I will write the post I’ve been most apprehensive about:

In Defense of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Why I Still Love This Script

So without further ado, I present to you the 7 most  common attacks I have received since I began publicly professing my love of the book, and my response to them. This is not meant to attack the beliefs of others, and if you think Cursed Child is awful, that’s your opinion. This post is an explanation of why I love Cursed Child DESPITE all of the claims that it’s awful, and why I think readers on the fence about buying it, should at least give it a try. 

  1. “It isn’t canon!”

    https://twitter.com/jk_rowling/status/615498601809211393

    Jo, Jack, and John developed the story together. Jo was on set with the actors, she was at rehearsals, she was very involved in the process. Jo considers it canonical. This isn’t an adaption of what Jo wrote, it is the story that she wrote. Books are written by multiple authors all the time, that’s nothing new. That said, I think every fan has their own definition of the word “canon” nowadays, so I guess this one comes down to what each reader personally wants to read. Me? I’ve been advocating for the HP Encyclopedia from day one, so I’m always thrilled when Jo gives us more information about the Wizarding World!

  2. “Okay, who cares what she says, we shouldn’t be required to blindly love anything she writes.”
    This is usually the point at which someone accuses me of fan-shaming, and I have to go back say something along the lines of: “Look, I love Cursed Child, and I’m a diehard fan. You think Cursed Child is awful, and although I disagree with you, I don’t think that makes you any less of a Potterhead, and I’m certainly not attacking your for that belief.”

    No, we don’t have to blindly love whatever Jo writes — There are plenty of people who hated Goblet of Fire, or Deathly Hallows, or Pottermore, and to each his own. But I say, give it a chance. Don’t let what you’ve read on Tumblr or Reddit dissuade you from being open minded when reading Cursed Child, because I think there’s a very good chance you’ll at least feel nostalgically happy about the book, and you’ll probably at least love some aspects of it. Who knows? You might fall in love with the whole thing. Maybe you won’t. But please, give J.K. Rowling a chance.

  3. “The Golden Trio aren’t true to their characters!”
    This usually means one of two things: Either the person thinks that Harry said some dumb things in the book, or the person is upset that a black woman was cast to play Hermione in the stage production.

    To the first one I always say: Guys, look, this is the same dumb Harry Potter that we’ve known and loved since he went all caps-lock on his best friends in Order of the Pheonix. Honestly, I would think if Jo had portrayed a Harry Potter that never lost his temper, got upset, or said something he would later regret, that would be unfaithful to the character we know from the seven books. Harry may be an adult who defeated Voldemort, but he still has bad moments and stressful circumstances. And come on guys, if Ginny and Albus can forgive him, why can’t we?

    To the second one I say: 

    And this:

    https://twitter.com/EmmaWatson/status/683365894517477377?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

  4. It’s a script! Harry Potter is supposed to be a book / it just doesn’t come to life quite the same way as it does reading a book. Jo’s just doing this to get money. It’s basically fan fic.
    So I compiled a few different ones in this. Yes, it’s a script. My first time reading it, was actually when my friend Analee and I chose different characters and read it aloud, which gave it amazing depth and made it so much more enjoyable than it already would have been. Then, I proceeded to read it two more times alone, and I still thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Script books have their own kind of magic, and that’s why I say give it a chance anyway. I’m absolutely still petitioning for a filmed version of the original cast performing it, or at least an original cast audiobook. And if Jo was doing this “just to get money”, then she wouldn’t have fallen off of the billionaire list because she gave so much money to charities. And it’s not fan fiction, because it’s written and approved by the author.

  5. Bella + Voldy??? What the what???
    This one has already been explained by people with much more time on their hands, so I will direct you to the following two articles:

    How old is Delphi in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? The Timeline Explains
    This is the quick and easy answer to when Delphi was conceived, for the TL;DR person.

    Cursed Child: Did J.K. Rowling ever hint at THAT romance in the original series?
    Personally, I think this is the best answer. It is chock full of JKR quotes from the books and from interviews over the years.

  6. Time travel? Are you kidding me? That’s SO DUMB. Also, confusing.
    In this case, I will direct you to the following essays written by people much smarter than me when it comes to the theoretical science of time travel. Personally, I yell at The Flash everytime he runs back in time because it’s SUCH A DUMB THING TO DO, but now I’m getting off topic, hahaha.

    Albus Potter and the Lesson in Quantum Mechanics
    This is the most science-y answer I could find, and if you ACTUALLY want to know how time travel works in the Harry Potter verse, this is the place to look. And if you just want to understand the alternate timelines in Cursed Child, scroll down to the subheading “The Timelines in Cursed Child”, and it explains everything perfectly.

    Cursed Child Alternate Timelines Diagram
    This is a wonderfully concise visual explanation of each of the alternate timelines in Cursed Child, and where they were different. It’s the visual version of the above. Truthfully, this helped me the most to understand it.

    Confused by the Harry Potter and Cursed Child’s Timeline? Time Turner Craziness Explained
    This is a slightly less easy to understand explanation of each of the alternate realities, but it can be a good a supplemental source.

  7. Cedric Diggory, a death eater? Yeah, right…
    As a Gryffindor, I will direct you to the following article written by a Hufflepuff that finally made it possible for me to understand how alternative timeline Cedric could have turned evil:
    Why Cedric Being Evil in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is Terrifying to Hufflepuffs

    And I will leave you with this quote from Sirius Black: 
    “Besides, the world isn’t split into good people and Death Eaters. We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.” -J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

So, there you have it. Those are my responses to the top seven complaints I hear about Cursed Child. So, give it a chance. I think you’ll probably 

 

Leave a Reply

