Review: Unlucky Horseshoe — by Barbara Morgenroth

image

Cover image from author, summary from goodreads.com.

Title: Unlucky Horseshoe (Mission Ranch Mystery, #1)

Author: Barbara Morgenroth

Rating:  ★★★★☆ (4 of 5)

Genre/Pages: Adult Mystery / 386

Summary: “When twenty-seven year old fashion designer Berry Lake moves to Mission Ranch to live with her father, the last thing she expects is to be caught up in a murder investigation. Or could the last thing Berry expects be to help her father, Mitch, fend off the local retired ladies who are chasing after him? Or, could the last thing Berry expects be to fall for Sheriff Mark Fernandez who thinks she knows more about the murder than she’s saying?
What Berry really didn’t expect is that once she and her father determine who the murderer is, no one is safe.”

Cover Review: I really love the vibe of this cover! The artwork is cutesy and accurately portrays the contents of the books. 

My Review: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. So, it’s weird. Right after I finished this book, I wrote “really fun read!” and though I still think that’s true, now, a month or so after reading it, I’m feeling a lot more “meh” about the book. Sure, I enjoyed reading it, but I don’t really have much of a desire to ever reread it (maybe that’s just how mystery novels work?). I would probably read a second book, though, if it was written. This was the first adult mystery I’d ever read (I loved Nancy Drew as a kid), and it wasn’t bad at all. In fact, I really liked it. 

Characters: I think my favorite part of the book was the protagonist, her father, and her love interest(s?). They were fabulous characters! They were creative, unique, and utterly enjoyable. I loved reading about them, and I loved their dialogue! Some of the other characters (like “the harem”) I found very irritating (albeit painfully realistic, based on my personal life experiences. I suppose I just don’t want to read about people like that for fun, hahaha), and I honestly think it’s those characters that left a bad taste in my mouth about the book as a whole that led to the book losing one star. But looking back, I think the good characters definitely made up for the bad ones. 

Plot: There were plenty of times where I thought I knew exactly what was going to happen — and almost every single time, it turned out that I was very wrong. Which I always love! I love it when a book is unpredictable and exciting. This mystery novel is full of laughs, romance, and adventure. It was a thoroughly enjoyable read. I really enjoyed the history of The Mission that is the setting of the whole book. Honestly, I think that was probably my second favorite thing about the book.

Content Advisory: Kinda graphic. Lots of death and violence and some implied sexual scenes.

To Sum It Up: I think this was a great book to be my introduction into the world of adult mystery novels — it wasn’t too intense or gross, but it was fun,  original, and unpredictable. I don’t regret reading this book! If you’re looking for a fun mystery to read, then I highly recommend The Unlucky Horseshoe to readers 17 and up.

Leave a Reply

