Review: Bewitching Mr. Darcy: A Pride and Prejudice Paranormal — by Cass Grix”


51aspcbmcil-_sy346_Title: 
Bewitching Mr. Darcy: A Pride and Prejudice Paranormal

Author: Cass Grix

Rating: ★★★★☆ (4 of 5)

Genre / Pages: Paranormal / 99

Summary: Fitzwilliam Darcy has never met a woman like Elizabeth Bennet. He finds her fascinating, irritating, compelling, inspiring, maddening, and absolutely beautiful. If he didn’t know better, he would think he was bewitched.

Bewitching Mr. Darcy is a Pride and Prejudice Variation, a paranormal novella.

Cover Review: I really love this cover! It’s gorgeous!

My review: I received a free copy of this novella in exchange for an honest review. So I’ll be honest: I have watched the Kiera Knightley Pride and Prejudice twice, the Pride and Prejudice: A Latter-day Comedy twice, and I thoroughly enjoyed both films. But I’m definitely not a Jane Austen fangirl (are they called Janeites?) or anything. So, admittedly, I was a bit hesitant when Cass approached me with reading these novellas. But I decided to give this novella a shot, and I was very pleasantly surprised.

It was an absolutely charming (pun totally intended) novella! Cass provides a a refreshing and quirky take on a classic romance. And in case that isn’t enough to convince you, Cass’ writing style is absolutely beautiful. She is a masterful storyteller, and adeptly weaves the magical world with the muggl– erm, non-magical world. She crafts complex characters that I actually care about. I definitely like Bewitching Mr. Darcy better than the original Pride & Prejudice… I think that every story ever written can benefit from a healthy dose of magic.

In this novella, we’re introduced to a mostly hidden world of wizardry during a very formal and conservative time. Some wizards have “come out” and are publicly ridiculed for their delusional practices, but most wizards are, like Elizabeth and her father, secretive and subtle in their magic useage. What happens when the fiercely independent and self-confident Elizabeth Bennet decides that she wants to humble the arrogant and closed-off Fitzwilliam Darcy? Well, you’ll have to buy the e-book HERE to find out ;)

Content AdvisorySome kissing, etc. Nothing explicit. 

To Sum It Up: Bewitching Mr. Darcy  was fun and quick read. I loved this story, and I’m sure that other YA fans of Paranormal Romance would, too!  I highly recommend it to readers 12+.

Leave a Reply

