Review: The Fate of Ten – by Pittacus Lore

Fate of TenTitle: PAIN, AGONY, SUFFERING, AND TEARS — er, I mean: The Fate of Ten (Lorien Legacies, #6)

Author: Pittacus Lore

Rating: ★★★★★ (5 of 5)

Pages / Genre: 416 / Sci-Fi

Summary: The sixth book in the thrilling, action-packed, New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series! For years the Garde have fought the Mogadorians in secret. Now all of that has changed. The invasion has begun. If the Garde can’t find a way to stop the Mogs, humanity will suffer the same fate as the Lorien: annihilation.

There is still hope. When the Elders sent the Garde to Earth, they had a plan—one which the Garde are finally starting to understand. In the climax of The Revenge of Seven, a group of the Garde traveled to an ancient pyramid in Mexico known to their people as the Sanctuary. There they awoke a power that had been hidden within our planet for generations. Now this power can save the world . . . or destroy it. It will all depend on who wields it.

My Review: Well, this will be interesting. I am attempting to write a review while still crying over that ending. I just can’t, okay? I just can’t. James “Pittacus Lore” Frey, I will never forgive you for this. The feels are just too much right now.

Now to attempt to write a semi-coherent review.

Heroes: In past books, I’ve found it difficult to keep track of and care for each of our young Garde, seeing as there are just so many. However, Fate of Ten steers clear of the “too many heroes” complex that similar books fall into (looking at you, Heroes of Olympus). Each of these heroes are individually complex, and you care deeply about the motivations and well-being of each one. That’s the most incredible thing about this series! I love these characters so much.

Plot: The whole series is coming to a close leading up to the final book in the seven story sage United As One. This book is action packed and exciting, as you see previous five books finally coming to fruition as everything begins to fall into place. The story alternates between two main groups: 4, 5, 9, and Sam, and 6, 7, 10, Adam and Sarah. I found myself almost unable to put this book down, and whenever I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about it. This book is possibly my favorite of the series, though it could have used more Sarah and more 9.

Content Advisory: Lots of battle scenes, and semi-graphic deaths. Mass destruction, sadness, and tears. Your tears. My tears. ALL THE TEARS. 

To Sum it Up: If you enjoy causing yourself emotional pain and distress – this book is for you. Also, if you have been following the adventures of the Garde as long as I have, you absolutely have to read this installment. Suspenseful, action packed, and intense, Fate of Ten was masterfully written. I recommend it to readers 14+.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Fate of Ten – by Pittacus Lore

  1. I am pretty sure that I acted the exact same when I finished the book and almost didnt want to read onto the next book. I have loved this series of a long time and its great to see another fan of the books :)

Leave a Reply

