Review: Princess of Athelia – By Aya Ling

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

First of all, an apology to you, my readers, for my months of silence. This semester of college really killed me. 17 credit hours, working 30ish hours a week, while balancing all of my other responsibilities got more than a little overwhelming. But I’m back now!

Title: Princess of Athelia

Author: Aya Ling

Summary: Kat has now moved into the palace, determined to make the most of her time with her beloved prince. Being princess, however, is no bed of roses. She must learn how to behave like a royal, prepare for the upcoming engagement, and defend herself against hostile relatives. And knowing that her time with Edward is limited, Kat isn’t so certain that she wants to be princess anymore…

Genre/Pages: Fantasy/80

Rating: ★★ (4.5 of 5)

My Review:  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I bought this novella. I absolutely adored the first book, so I knew I loved the characters and world, but I was intrigued by what the plot could be. You see, it’s difficult to say much without giving the details of the book away, but this novella occurs in the middle of the first book. However, despite my skepticism, I absolutely adored this!

Hero/Heroine: Kat and Edward: Well, we all know that they’re practically perfect in every way. One of the foremost ways of course being that they are both FAR from perfect. (I dunno, Edward seems a bit too perfect sometimes. But he’s a storybook prince — I’ll let it slide). Kat is feisty and independent, while Edward is loyal and steadfast. They both stand as fantastic characters in their own rights, but when combined the witty dialogue and adorable romance make them an irresistible set of leads.

Plot: Again, I was unsure about how the plot would go over. I figured this novella might end up being more of a fan service than anything else (which, you know, I would still be okay with since I really do love the world and characters), but I was very pleasantly surprised. It had a nice little plot arc, and really was able to spend a lot of time developing some characters (and of course the not-TOO-in-your-face-but-not-exactly-subtle social and political commentary). It was thoroughly enjoyable.

Content Advisory: A fair amount of minor cuss words. (B-, D-, H-, S-), some passionate kissing, but that’s about it. 

To Sum it Up: It’s a novella. That takes place during the first book. It’s not supposed to have world-shattering revelations. It was a very fun and engaging return to the world and the characters. However, it’d probably be quite confusing if you’d never read the first book. So make sure to check out my review of it HERE. If you enjoyed The Ugly Stepsister, you will LOVE this novella. Fabulous writing and storycrafting. The return to Athelia was magical. I recommend it for everyone over the age of 13.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

One thought on “Review: Princess of Athelia – By Aya Ling

Leave a Reply

