As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales From the Making of The Princess Bride — By Cary Elwes

Photo from Goodreads.com. Image links to Amazon book page!

Photo from Goodreads.com. Image links to Amazon book page!

Title: As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales From the Making of The Princess Bride

Author: Cary Elwes

Rating:★★★★★ (5/5)

Genre/Pages: Non-Fiction / 259

Summary: From actor Cary Elwes, who played the iconic role of Westley in The Princess Bride, comes a first-person account and behind-the-scenes look at the making of the cult classic film filled with never-before-told stories, exclusive photographs, and interviews with costars Robin Wright, Wallace Shawn, Billy Crystal, Christopher Guest, and Mandy Patinkin, as well as author and screenwriter William Goldman, producer Norman Lear, and director Rob Reiner.

The Princess Bride has been a family favorite for close to three decades. Ranked by the American Film Institute as one of the top 100 Greatest Love Stories and by the Writers Guild of America as one of the top 100 screenplays of all time, The Princess Bride will continue to resonate with audiences for years to come.

Cary Elwes was inspired to share his memories and give fans an unprecedented look into the creation of the film while participating in the twenty-fifth anniversary cast reunion. In As You Wish he has created an enchanting experience; in addition to never-before seen photos and interviews with his fellow cast mates, there are plenty of set secrets, backstage stories, and answers to lingering questions about off-screen romances that have plagued fans for years!

With a foreword by Rob Reiner and a limited edition original poster by acclaimed artist Shepard Fairey, As You Wish is a must-have for all fans of this beloved film.

My Review: First of all, an apology. Many people claim to be bad at regular blogging. I think I win that title. I’ve missed every single second of it, though! If you could look into my life these days, you’d understand. (I think I’ve been on Netflix twice in the past few months). I will not let myself lag this long. To the review!

I, like many others, am a die hard fan of The Princess Bride. I grew up watching it, and can easily quote every line in the show. It is the ultimate height of film making. So when I saw that star Cary Elwes, who plays Wesley, was writing a book I knew I had to read it. I even got a signed copy of it! #Fangirling

Some people, myself generally included, are apprehensive of non-fiction. They’re afraid it will be uninteresting and won’t command their attention. That is NOT the case with As You Wish. Cary’s heartwarming and witty writing style, combined with the nature of the content (THE PRINCESS BRIDE) make this novel an engaging and beautiful ride. I laughed (a lot), and I may have even cried.

Have you ever wondered why Cary ended up in the hospital not once, but TWICE, during filming? (Hint: One of the injuries even made it into the film!) Have you ever been curious to get the inside story on why The Princess Bride fell flat in theaters, only to become arguably one of the most beloved films of all time today? Ever wanted to know the rigorous training that went into filming The Greatest Sword Fight of All Time? As Cary documents the making of The Princess Bride he compiles quotations from interviews with other cast and crew to create a truly unforgettable masterpiece.

To Sum It Up: If you are even a casual fan of The Princess Bride — READ THIS BOOK. You will love it, I promise. Witty, engaging, and beautiful, I flew through this book in a few sittings. This is one non-fiction novel that you cannot put down.

 

P.S. I REALLY REALLY REALLY want this necklace. Anyone else feel me?

Image Copyright of LittleGemGirl on Etsy. Image links to product page!

Image Copyright of LittleGemGirl on Etsy. Image links to product page!

 

 

3 thoughts on “As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales From the Making of The Princess Bride — By Cary Elwes

  1. Pingback: As You Wish by Cary Elwes Audiobook Review

  2. Pingback: Rearview Mirror: September 2015 | The Aroma of Books

  3. I actually wanted to get this book because I’m a fan of the movie and book. I read the reviews and it sounded like a book where the Cary Elwes just raves about his co-stars and director and cast members and yet, I do not mind it. there’s just too much bashing going around in the entertainment business that hearing good things said about other people is something kind of new and good to hear. definitely going to get the book when I have a chance.

    hope you have a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

