High Five! 2015 Book Blogger Love-A-Thon Mini-Challenge!

loveathon2015

Subscribers, I apologize for the recent spamming posts. As you have probably discovered, I am taking part in the 2015 Book Blogger Love-A-Thon hosted by Alexa Loves Books. And today, I bring you another mini-challenge: High Five! The top five things in the below categories that are currently making me happy. :) I’m going to try to avoid repeats of the same book/author.

Book

  1. Non-fiction: The Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ. This is the most life-changing and happy-making book I will ever read. I know that it is the word of God.
  2. Harry Potter (it will always be in this list, because it has the magical ability to always make me happy)
  3. Persephone– By Kaitlin Bevis. If you follow my blog, you’ve probably realized by now that I’m obsessed with this series. Very obsessed.
  4. All Fall Down – By Ally Carter. I really, really, REALLY loved this book!
  5. Atlas Shrugged – by Ayn Rand. This is one of the biggest reading challenge I have ever taken on. But I intend to finish it. All 1168 pages of it. I’m only a few chapters in as of yet, but I’m loving it!

Genre

  1. Urban Fantasy! My brother is currently writing a UF series, so after I beta read his first book, he recommended some others, starting with Monster Hunter International. I’m loving it!
  2. Mythology. Very similar to UF in some ways, but I love mythology retellings.
  3. YA Fantasy! I love it! Basically, my entire blog.
  4. Science-Fiction. I’m talking, R.A. Heinlein, J.A. Dalley, type of sci-fi, not dystopian.
  5. High Fantasy. Probably one of my all-time favorite genres. If you’ve got ANY recommendations for high fantasy PLEASE let me know! I’m always looking for some more great ones!

Author

1. J.K. Rowling. Have you seen her twitter feed? She’s just an amazing person, tbh.

2. Rick Riordan. I met him 3 years ago. His books have the magical ability to always be able to make me laugh, no matter what.

3. Larry Correia. I read my first ever book by him, Monster Hunter International just a week or so ago. He’s a pretty cool guy.

4. C.S. Lewis. Not only do I adore (see Lucy Pevensie cosplay HERE) his Narnia series, but I also have Screwtape Letters as #1 on my TBR list.

5. Tudor Robins. She restored my faith in good quality Equestrian fiction with her phenomenal novel Appaloosa Summer. I highly recommend it!

Blogger

  1. Alex @ Seagulls and Semantics. Cuz Texas bloggers need to stick together! Haha. :)
  2. Sarah @ On Another Note. I love this wonderful blogger. We met via Pinterest what feels like ages ago.
  3. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books. Right now, Alexa makes me VERY happy for putting together this wonderful Love-A-Thon!
  4. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity. One of the first bloggers I started following.
  5. Kaitlin @ Kaitlin Bevis Blog. Oops. Sorry, guys. There I go again. I don’t think it’s possible for me to talk about bookish things I love without accidentally bringing up Kaitlin again. She’s just so awesome!

Bookish Merchandise / Book related site

  1. The King’s English Bookshop in SLC, UT. I’ve never actually BEEN there, but I buy signed books from them ALL THE TIME. Love them! My goal is to one day actually go inside their store.
  2. BookPeople in Austin, TX. Again, never been there, but I love them! Independent Bookstores FTW.
  3. HALF-PRICE BOOKS. They are basically my favorite place ever. It’s perfect for everything: finding books, going on dates, selling books, eating sandwiches, getting lost in books, reading books, everything.
  4. Made With Magic Etsy shop (for all of your HP themed light switch cover needs! And Frostbeard Studio Etsy shop for all of your fandom and book smelling candle needs.
  5. Sure, they’re way pricey. But nothing is more fun than making a special trip to Barnes & Noble on the release day of a long-awaited novel. Or going there at 7am on Black Friday for signed books. :)

So, there you have it! What are YOUR high-fives? Leave me your link so I can check them out!

13 thoughts on “High Five! 2015 Book Blogger Love-A-Thon Mini-Challenge!

  1. This was such a fantastic list, Lynette! I can’t wait to check out some of the favorites you shared. I had more intelligent things to say, but then I saw my name on your list of bloggers, and I got all giddy. Therefore, I forgot most of my insights. Now I must simply say a big THANK YOU!!! <3 You made my night, and I'm ever so grateful that Pinterest brought me a friend in you!

  2. I liked, but didn’t love All Fall Down, but I think it’s a great precursor to the next book in the series – she left a lot of things untied, which I liked a lot.

    Thank you for those great bookish shopping recs – I might have to get one of those light switch covers immediately!

Leave a Reply

