2015 Book Blogger Love-A-Thon Questionnaire

loveathon2015

I joined the 2015 Book Blogger Love-A-Thon at the very last minute, so I may end up missing a few of these things….. QUESTIONNAIRE

Me, after a long day at the barn.

Me, after a long day at the barn.

What’s your name?

Lynette Ann Dalley. Lynette after the Arthurian legend, and Ann after my late aunt.

Where in the world are you blogging from?

The Great State of Texas! We’re really into TX state pride. And, contrary to MOST Texans, I actually do ride horses, wear cowboy hats and boots, and support gun rights (well, actually, most TXns are united on that front, but that’s another story).

How did you get into blogging in the first place?

My dad. I was homeschooled my entire life, and when my dad took over for the high school part of my education, he told me that if I created a book blog, it would count as my English class and I wouldn’t have to write very many papers! After the initial fear and doubt that anyone would ever read it, I went for it. By the time I had graduated high school, and began attending college, I had fallen in love with the book blogging community, so I continued.

How did you come up with your blog name?

Ahh, yes. My book blog name was a huge deal for me. I was very stressed over coming up with the right name. I spent days, maybe even weeks, pondering it. And suddenly, inspiration hit, “Escaping Reality — One Book at a Time”, that’s perfect! I thought, so I went with it. Because that IS what reading is for me. That’s what it’s always been. Even when I was just a little girl who wanted to get away from a sibling fight, I would run to our house library (floor to ceiling bookshelves, It’s awesome, I know), grab a book, and read in my closet. And then Harry Potter came along. It truly changed my life. Reading is where I escape from my reality. Because, my life is pretty good, I’m not gonna lie, but sometimes bad things, hard things, happen. So I read.

What genre do you read and review the most on your blog?

If I’m being honest, probably YA fantasy. I try to mix it up, thrown in some sci-fi, historical fiction, contemporary, romance, urban fantasy, NA, MG, etc. But I always seem to fall back on YA fantasy. There’s just something so magical about it.

What other types of posts do you do on your blog, apart from reviews?

Not a whole lot, yet. I’ve been trying to think of some fun ways I can incorporate stuff like that, but this whole 17 year old college sophomore thing is a lot harder than one would think. Sometimes I will highlight my signed book collection and the story behind each one with my Signature Saturdays. I’ll often join Top Ten Tuesdays or Waiting on Wednesdays. I’ve been thinking of creating my own little thing called “Putting it in Perspective” where I would have a few people from completely different stages of their life talk a little bit about one particular cliche or theme in books, and what they thought about it. (i.e. having a mother, and author, and me, talk about love triangles one week, etc.). Thoughts on that?

Best blogging experience so far?

#TBTBSanta 2014 with The Broke and Bookish. I had a blast getting stuff for my secret santa, and adored interacting with the community on twitter.

Favorite thing about the blogging community?

There are people out there like me! They read books! They LIKE reading books! They review them! They fangirl! They understaaannnnddd!

Name the 5 books you’re most excited for this 2015!

1. Ranger’s Apprentice: The Early Days. The Tournament at Gorlan — By John Flanagan. The first RA prequel! Halt! Crowley! asdfghjkl I’m so excited!

2. Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination — By J.K. Rowling. A hardcover and illustrated version of JKR’s speech at Harvard in 2008. I am SO excited!

3. The Forgotten Sisters (Princess Academy, #3) — By Shannon Hale. I grew up with Shannon Hale. So a THIRD one in the Princess Academy series??? I can’t wait!

4. Tracked — by Jenny Martin. I actually only heard about this a few weeks ago, but this debut author looks like she’s going to be amazing!

5. The Axe of Sundering (Adventurers Wanted, #5) – by M.L. Forman. Wasn’t this book supposed to be released in 2014??? The date just keeps getting pushed back. Who knows, it might NOT be released this year.

What’s an underrated book or series that you think everyone should read?

One of my all-time favorite MG series is The Mysterious Benedict Society – By Trenton Lee Stewart. I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve read these books and still loved them. They’re witty, they’re thought provoking, imaginative, and FUN. Adult or child – this is a must read!

Which book boy or girl would be your book BFF?

I’m gonna be super cliche and go with Hermione Granger. She understands me. Books, homework, Gryffindor, we’re quite alike, really.

Apart from reading, what are your other hobbies or interests?

I ride horses, train horses, groom horses (oh, you mean NON-horse things?!?!). Umm… I sing, am in voice lessons, have been playing the piano for 10 years now. I am really interested in biochemistry, law, and politics. Let’s just say I’m having trouble declaring a major.

Apart from book shopping, what else do you like shopping for?

Blazers! Suits! Fancy clothes! If you have seen me in real life, I’m wearing one of two things. 1. A Blazer/suit 2. A fandom t-shirt. Sometimes I go really crazy and wear a blazer OVER a fandom t-shirt. One can never have enough blazers! Also, things for my horse. Tack, grooming supplies, treats, clothing, anything and everything.

At a party, the DJ suddenly changes the song – and it’s your song. What song would be playing?

God Help The Girl. Definitely.  Song from a small indie film. But ever since I heard it on Agent’s of S.H.I.E.L.D. I’ve fallen in love with it. Also I hold On by Dierks Bentley.

Pick out either a book you want turned into a film/TV show, or a film/TV show you want turned into a book.

The Persephone Trilogy – by Kaitlin Bevis. If you’ve followed by blog, you probably know that this is kinda an obsession for me. It is one of the best series’ I have ever read. I wear my airplant necklace all the time. I rarely go a day without talking about this series and how much I love it. Love mythology with a NEW GOOD twist? Love romance? READ THIS BOOK.

20 thoughts on “2015 Book Blogger Love-A-Thon Questionnaire

  1. That’s awesome about the horsey things! Horse stuff is SO expensive. I rode and showed way back in the day… I really miss riding so so much! And yes, I love the fact that the book community UNDERSTANDS books, the feels and the flails. :)

  2. I am from TX and love it there so much. I have been all over the state and just love it. And the reason you started a book blog is just really neat. My dad probably has no idea what book blogging is.. well he does follow my blog but he is probably wondering what I’m talking about. I wish I could get into horses. They fascinate me .. but I live in the middle of a city. Boo!

    Love-A-Thon 2015

    • I love Texas! (I bet that totally wasn’t clear by my above comments about Texas). Haha, yeah, my mom follows my blog and she probably thinks the same thing, to be honest. Especially with my fangirl posts. :)
      Horses have always been my thing. I live in the middle of a 250,000+ population city, so when I began begging my parents at the age of 6 to let me ride horses, it wasn’t an easy feat to find a good instructor and barn, but I love it!

  3. Ooh, The Mysterious Benedict Society! That’s a series that I’ve been curious about for years, but never gotten around to starting. Might have to remedy that now! Also, I think it’s cool that you started your blog as a project encouraged by your dad :) And that you ride horses, which was something I dreamed of doing when I was little…

    Thanks for joining the Love-a-Thon!

    • You definitely should check it out! I first read it when I was probably 9 or so, but I’ve been rereading it ever since and it never gets old. It’s a truly fabulous series. <3
      My horse Joker is definitely a dream come true for me.

      Thank YOU so much for putting all this together! I'm loving it!

  4. I like your blog name.I like the fact that with each book we read, we get to visit a new world different from our day to day, and your blog name fits that perfectly.

  5. I’ve always fancied moving to Texas eventually. I hear there are tons of job opportunities down there, and the cities are booming! Also there are lots of bookish events there ;) I really like your blog name, and I’m so excited for Tracked too! It reminds me of Speedracer a bit. Lovely getting to know you!

    • You should do it! Some say I’m biased, but it’s the best state in the US of A. It’s a really great community, and we definitely have a lot of opportunities. And book events! Particularly in Houston and Austin.

      I don’t think I’ve read Speedracer. I need to check it out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

