I Ask… Author of the Persephone trilogy, Kaitlin Bevis, Answers

I like interacting with people on Twitter. It’s fun! One day, I tweeted this image:

IMG_0734

And then, one of my all time favorite authors, Kaitlin Bevis, responded, offering to answer those questions for her characters. Of course, I thought about the offer for a few minutes before calmly telling her that I would be interested in such a response (READ: I screamed, and immediately started frantically tweeting back about how unbelievably happy that would make me, all while hyperventilating.). Kaitlin Bevis is the author of the Daughters of Zeus series, a retelling of the Persephone myth in modern day. Read my reviews of her books here: Persephone, Daughter of the Earth and Sky, The Iron Queen. Her books star the most wonderful interpretations of the Persephone and Hades that I have ever read, and in fact I’m kinda in love with Hades. He’s freaking amazing.

Her responses are as follows (He/Him means Hades, She/Her means Persephone)

Needless to say, I was kinda overjoyed. I’m kinda really obsessed with her characters. (Fangirl moment: Did you catch that part about her maybe writing a short story about Persephone and Hades’ anniversary?!?!?!?!) If you haven’t yet read her books, I highly recommend you do. They’re fabulous. But, unfortunately, they’re only currently available in e-book format, which is sad.

ImageSo, that’s fabulous news! Because these books would do FABULOUS if sold in bookstores and at libraries. They already do quite well from what I can tell, but I think they could really get a major fanbase if they were more widely available.  I can’t wait! :D

Kaitlin was also the reason I fell in love with airplants. Persephone wears one on a necklace 24/7. I started out with one necklace. But now I have 20 little airplants all over my house. I love them. <3

IMG_0735

My first airplant.

So, there you go! Make sure to buy Kaitlin’s kindle books HERE.

2 thoughts on “I Ask… Author of the Persephone trilogy, Kaitlin Bevis, Answers

  1. I have never heard of this series but it sounds rather interesting just based on the author’s responses to your tweet. I’m always interested in hearing interpretations of Persephone as I’ve made it part of my namesake to know all about it. Thank you for sharing this! (:

    • Oh, you REALLY should. They’re truly phenomenal. If you haven’t had a chance to check them out, I do have the links to my reviews of the books in the post above. I’ve read a LOT of mythology retellings, Persephone included. This is by far the best mythology and the best Persephone retelling I have ever read. It’s not boring, or predictable. It’s not just following the myths word for word. Kaitlin adds her own twists and turns, makes it truly her own, original story, and I love that. Also, the fact that your name is Peresphone?? THAT IS SUPER COOL. I love it!

Leave a Reply

