Review: Hidden Enemy (Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files, #7-9) – By Pittacus Lore

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to Goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to Goodreads book page.

Title: Hidden Enemy (Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files, #7-9)

Author: Pittacus Lore

Summary: 

You know we have been betrayed.
You must discover why.
You must learn the truth.
They have put a plan in motion.
They have infiltrated your government.
They have already turned some of you.
They will do whatever it takes to have your planet.
The battle lines have been drawn.

Whose side are you on?

Genre/Pages: Science-Fiction/416

Rating: ★★★★★ (5 of 5)

My Review: To this day, 9 novellas later, I have very mixed feelings on this series of novellas. In some ways, I feel like it’s just weird. It’s confusing to be constantly attempting to remember when the next trilogy of novellas comes out, and what they say. I do find them useful in many ways, though, because they keep me in the world, since they get released so often in between “real” books, they give me a chance to refresh my memory of the world, story line, and characters, while still getting a lot of new info. Is it necessary to read these novellas? No, I don’t think so. But I think they are VERY enlightening, and if you really like the “real” series, and want to get the full experience, PLEASE, read them. They’re wonderful, and you learn a LOT of new info.

Also, despite trying very hard not to let my personal feelings get in the way of my enjoyment of a book, I’m absolutely horrified by the alleged actions of the so-called “author” of these books, and if I didn’t love the series so much, I would never support him. But, anyway, I’m going to do a short paragraph on each of the novellas.

Five’s Legacy: In this novella, we get to explore Five’s early life, with the timeline matching up to I Am Number Four, his first encounter with the Mogadorians, and his motivation behind eventually joining forces with them. Here, Lore attempts to get us to love Five. To feel sympathy and understanding for him. And you kinda do. You get to know him, his interactions with others, and his motives. You get to see him as he discovers his legacies. It’s kinda heartwrenching, this one. But still plenty of action.

Return to Paradise: In Return to Paradise, we follow Mark Evans. (excuse me while I shiver and gag). I hate Mark Evans. SO MUCH. UGHHHH. Anyway, timeline-wise, this takes place shortly after the finale of I Am Number Four and the the destruction of Paradise high school, and, if I’m remembering right, after / in the middle of Power of Six, when Sarah goes missing. Another problem with  these novellas? I CANNOT keep the timeline straight! It’s an absolute mess! Anyway, Mark is an absolute idiot and jerk and lots of other words. But it is really great to finally see what exactly DID go on in between Mark and Sarah, after the battle at Paradise High School, and before Sarah gets captured. Also, I have a feeling this “Garde” guy will become very important…

Five’s Betrayal: Here, we deal with Number Five again. WOW, talk about a jerk. I cannot stand this kid. Anyway, he has sworn complete allegiance to the Mogadorians and promised to kill Number Nine to prove his loyalty. And that’s the premise for this one. In it, all the work Lore did to try to make us like Five was destroyed. You fully discover his complete motivation for infiltrating the Loric in Fall of Five, and OH MY GOSH. Well, that’s just say there were plenty of jaw-dropping moments in this, as you really begin to understand the twisted and brainwashed character that is Number Five.

Content Advisory: A handful of F-bombs, maybe 4? A smattering of D-words, H-words, and S-words. A lot of violence. I think in some ways, the Lorien Legacies can be more twisted than the Hunger Games ever was. The Hunger Games always dismissed reality. It had elements of reality, but Collins always skirted it, wanting it to give the impression of reality, without quite the horror of it. But Lorien Legacies? Lore embraces the realness, the reality, of the violence, of the horror. He does everything possible to make it seem more real, like it could be happening right now and you wouldn’t now. It’s disturbing. Does any of that make sense?

To Sum it Up: I really enjoyed it. I guess. That sounds kinda twisted, to enjoy something like this. But, anyway, it’s a really good collection. You get some really fascinating insights into character’s minds, and you get to see how the whole story plays out, not just the one sided version you get during the original series. Along with giving you a bigger picture than you previously had, it gives you some fascinating insight into what might go down in book numbers 6 and 7. Action packed, and a wonderful read, if you’re a (do we have a fandom name???) Lorien Legacies fan, I highly recommend it. For ages 13+. 

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

Leave a Reply

