Review: Deaf Again – By Mark Drolsbaugh

B621_deafauthor_1

Deaf Again

 

Title: Deaf Again

Author: Mark Drolsbaugh

Summary: Join Mark Drolsbaugh in his fascinating journey from hearing toddler… to hard of hearing child… to deaf adolescent… and ultimately, to culturally Deaf adult. The struggle to find one’s place in the deaf community is challenging, as Drolsbaugh finds, yet there is one interesting twist: Both his parents are also deaf. Even though the deaf community has always been there for him, right under his nose, Drolsbaugh takes to the unbeaten path and goes on a zany, lifelong search… to become Deaf Again.

Genre/Pages: Non-Fiction/203

Rating: ★★ (3 of 5)

My Review: At first, I wasn’t sure how much I would like Deaf Again, As I adjusted, I quickly grew to love it. It’s been a while now since I read it, so in some ways this review will be more truthful. I find that when I review a book that I read months (or in this case, a year) earlier, I remember only the key and most important parts of the book. I don’t often review non-fiction, but I thought it was time for a change of pace.

The main character, in complete honesty, annoyed me. Which was strange, and may sound a bit bad, because he’s a REAL person. Telling his story. I understand, from my years of ASL classes and the like, that being Deaf is no small challenge. But througout the whole book he had a very definite air of my-life-sucks-I-hate-everybody. Which got old fast.

All of that said, it was a very enlightening read. I highly recommend it for educational purposes. If you’re taking any sort of American Sign Language class, odds are, you’re going to be asked to read this book. It travels from his birth, which was quite traumatic on account of his parents both being Deaf, and the hospital not having an interpreter, to his teaching days at a Deaf school. It is an autobiography, but it does not suffer from boring content or long tangents. Mark keeps his story engaging and enlightening without losing the harsh realities. And don’t just take MY word for it that this book is worth a read — the entire ASL department at my school (all of the faculty being Deaf) highly recommended and respected it.

Content Advisory: 2 F-bombs, approx. 5 h**l, approx. 5 d***n, approx. s***t.

To Sum it Up: It is a true and moving look inside the Deaf world, and I think everyone should read it. Though his attitude bugged me – a lot – his stories were beautiful, and on occasion, heartwrenching. Mark gives you as a hearing person I rare chance to venture inside HIS world, and see what it’s like to be Deaf Again.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

Leave a Reply

