Top Ten Blogging Confessions

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, this meme is all about making book-ish lists of your "Top Ten"s!

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, this meme is all about making book-ish lists of your “Top Ten”s!

Top Ten Book Blogging Confessions

(Not Necessarily in the Following Order)

1. I have an obsession with signed books. Like, at this point, I probably own about 45ish. Ranging from Rick Riordan, to Veronica Roth, to little known authors no one’s ever heard of. I collect them, I order them, I go to book signings, the whole deal. I. LOVE. SIGNED. BOOKS.

2. Though I’ve read most of the books I own, I haven’t read THE COPIES of the books I own. I read the book from a library, and then, if I REALLY love it, I’ll go out to buy it. Rarely will I read it again. I just like to have the pretty books on my pretty shelves.

3. I have so many books authors or publishing companies have sent me to read, I don’t want to think about it… I always feel bad when I look at the stack I have yet to read and review, but sometimes I just don’t have time for everything I want to AND need to read!

4. Sometimes, I buy/check out from the library a book, just because it has a beautiful cover… Even if it doesn’t look like a book I’d enjoy reading.

5. I’m always in the middle of at LEAST 5-10 books…

6. … And have at LEAST another 15 checked out from the library!

7. If I’m reading a REALLY great book, it doesn’t end. Even when I put it down, the story is still happening. I play scenes through my head, create new scenes, the whole deal. But only with a special few books.

8. I ADORE blogging, don’t get me wrong! But, sometimes… I dread it. I dread the need to go online, write reviews, and join memes, stay on top of everything. Blogging’s hard work. Much harder than I expected when I started it.

9. I’ve always wanted to start my own meme, but have been too worried that no one would be interested in it. :/

10. Don’t you DARE mess with Harry Potter! Seriously, I will fight you on this one. Harry Potter is the best. Don’t forget about Light Up Jo’s Birthday with Lumos!

11. I only have approx. 300 books in my room. (My house has a library, but in MY ROOM, I only have 300-400.)

12. I have been blogging for about a year and a half, but have only had a Netgalley account for TWO WEEKS. I know! It’s unbelievable!

What’s your Top Ten for this week?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Blogging Confessions

  1. I feel like if I ever saw a signed book in store and even if it might not be immediately interesting to me. I’d throw money down so fast to get it–I don’t even know why. I guess if authors are the bookish equivalent of rock stars then it all seems to make sense!

    I love the idea of creating your own meme. There’s actually plenty that I don’t even qualify to do due to slow reading or what have you so new meme possibilities is definitely a great thing for the community.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  2. I’m the same on #2! I buy special books after I read them in the library. Although I do expect to reread them someday, I often have them sitting on my shelf, that-copy-unread, for a long time!

  3. I totally agree that it is super hard work. I also never imagined that it would be so time consuming, but I really enjoy it! And I am with you, signed books are the best :) And wow, 300-400 book seems like a lot, I definitely do not have that many (though someday, I hope to!) Great list!

  4. I blogged for nearly three years before joining Netgalley…and I barely use it now that I have. So you’re not alone! I read about a lot of bloggers feeling Netgalley pressure so I avoided it for while, and now I try to request discerningly.

    I like signed books in theory, but I’m overall too lazy to acquire them. I have maybe three, and that’s more or less by luck. ;)

Leave a Reply

