Review: Daughter of the Earth and Sky – by Kaitlin Bevis

Daughter of earth and sky

Cover image and summary from Goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

 

Title: Daughter of the Earth and Sky (Daughters of Zeus, #2)

Author: Kaitlin Bevis

Summary: Some vows can never be broken. Persephone thought she could go back to her normal life after returning from the Underworld. She was wrong. The goddess Aphrodite is born among the waves with more charm than she can control. Zeus is stalking Persephone and her loved ones, and Thanatos is no longer content with Persephone’s silence. He wants her soul.

Persephone can’t tell anyone about Thanatos’ betrayal, and it drives a wedge between her and Hades. Her mother is still keeping secrets, and Melissa’s jealousy of Aphrodite threatens to tear their friendship apart. Alone, Persephone turns to a human boy for comfort. But will their relationship put him in danger? Sacrifices must be made, and Persephone must choose between her human life and her responsibilities as a goddess. If she doesn’t, she could lose them both. But will either life be worth choosing once Zeus is through with her?

Genre/Pages: Mythology/Sweet Romance/228

Rating: ★★★ (6 of 5)

WARNING: Brace yourself! My inner fangirl side may come through overwhelmingly heavy, potentially rambling, and undoubtebly long. You have been warned.


My Review: I was given a copy of this book from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

First Paragraph: “I’d been here before. My bare feet glided over the leaf-strewn path, unharmed by the rocks and twigs crunching beneath me. Massive live oaks draped with Spanish moss created a canopy above me, transforming the forest path into a tunnel of speckled sunlight. The air was heavy with humidity. The moist heat pressed against my skin and stole the breath from my lungs. By the time I reached the path’s end, my Eeyore nightshirt clung to my skin.”

Me at this point in the book: “***EEEEEEE!*** OHMYGOODNESS, I missed this world so much! I’m so happy! I  love these characters!” <<< And that basically sums up my feelings/sounds throughout the entire book. Heavy emphasis on the squealing. :P But, seriously, let’s get down to business. THIS BOOK WAS SO AMAZING! So, if you remember, a LONG time ago, Kaitlin Bevis contacted me and sent me a copy of her first book, Persephone, which I promptly, read, fell in love with, and REVIEWED.

After raving about how much I adored her books, she sent me the final two books in the trilogy, and I just hadn’t had TIME to read them until a few days ago. It was 10 PM, and I just thought: “I want a book that makes me happy.” So, I decided to pick up Daughter of the Earth and Sky, and read a few chapters before going to bed. 4 hours later, at 2 am, I endured a horrendous and paining inner struggle. It went something like this:
Rational me: Lynette! You have to be RIDING A HORSE in 7 hours! You need to be rested and alert or else you’ll die!

Fangirl me: Just one more page???  PLEASE???

Rational: NO. SLEEP. SLEEP NOW.

Fangirl: But– but… Hades! He’s so perfect! I love him so much!

Rational: ,’:l

Fangirl: Oh, no you didn’!

Rational: GO TO SLEEP.

Fangirl: I WILL NOT SLEEP UNTIL I READ THE LAST 100 PAGES OF THIS FANTABULOUS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!! If I stop now my life will be OVER!!!

(Everything gets more dramatic and emotional at 2 am.)

Eventually, rational me won out, and I heart wrenchingly put the book down. Throughout the following 20 hours, every second I wasn’t reading either this book, or The Iron Queen (book 3 in the trilogy), I was thinking about them. Non-stop. Obsessively. Kaitlin Bevis is a spectacular author, and there are no words of praise I could offer that would come close to describing how much I loved this book. It’s not like Harry Potter, or Percy Jackson, or Divergent, a book that you can recommend to EVERYONE, because not EVERYONE would love Daughter of the Earth and Sky. It’s an interesting genre, one that many authors have been attempting to fulfill, but I wholeheartedly consider Kaitlin Bevis the reigning champion of  YA Mythological Sweet Romance. And mythology. And romance. And just non-HP YA in general. Kaitlin is the QUEEN! Okay, sorry, the aftermath of such an incredible book is still deluding my rational, professional, review process. #Sorrynotsorry

Hero/Heroine: Hades and Persephone. Don’t even get me started. TOO LATE! There are two parts to this section (again, If you’re still reading this far, thank you!), the characters, and the romance. Let me go over the characters themselves first:

Persephone: Let me preface this by saying that I am an actress, first and foremost. I’ve been in amateur productions my whole life, and often times will find myself critiquing a character based on how well they could be brought to life  on a stage or a screen. In this case, however, I fell in love with Persephone’s character, because she had EVERYTHING I’d always wanted in a character I dreamt of playing. She was REAL. She wasn’t unnaturally intelligent and 5 steps ahead of everyone else, but she wasn’t stupid. She made mistakes. She was a goddess (y’know, little details). Even when she made mistakes, you still didn’t hate her. She had laspses in judgement. She could kick some serious butt if needed. She commanded authority. She was broken. She had a secret that she physically couldn’t disclose. She wasn’t some stupid teenage girl.  She logically considered her actions. But sometimes she blew up at people. She struggled. She thought people could never love her again. But she was strong, she was confident, she was the single most AMAZING female character I have ever read. She inspired me.

Persephone2

Point at You by Justin Moore

Hades: The reason this novel didn’t need to stoop to the level of a love triangle is because Hades is BOTH male POINTS OF THE TRIANGLE. Hades had the dark, greater-good, responsible, side. He also had the sweet, caring, sacrificing, understanding, side. He’s the dark lord of the Underworld, and he’s also the world’s greatest male protagonist. He’s someone that you instantly fall in love with.

Long story short: The character development was perfect. Though each of these characters were great love interests, they were also characters OUTSIDE of their relationship. They actually taught you good morals.

Their Relationship: It was a healthy relationship. They weren’t dependent on eachother, they were equals. I think far to many novels these days are written surrounding “relationships of convenience”. i.e. They’re both in the same situation, they are friends, they are physically attracted to each other, and desperately want a relationship. So they decide to make out. That is not AT ALL how Persephone and Hades’ relationship was handled. It was beautiful. They have a HEALTHY RELATIONSHIP. What a concept in YA novel!

Created on postergen.com.

Created on postergen.com.

 

Plot: This is where it gets real. Though I have classified it as a romance, that’s not how this really is. Yes, there is a romance. Yes, it is incredible, and you adore the characters. But, wait! THERE’S MORE! There was a fantastic plot outside of that romance! The story was so REAL. Everything that these characters went through, everything that happened, was stunning. You never had a Shannon Hale-type of problem where you’re bored and frustrated because you can see the outcome, and don’t want to wait 100 pages for it to get around to FINALLY resolving. (Don’t get me wrong, I ADORE Shannon’s work, but that’s another story.) Even though you KNEW it would resolve, you didn’t see how. You were on the edge of your seat (quite literally), completely engrossed in the story. It wasn’t a predictable story, and Kaitlin Bevis puts a completely new twist on the old mythology. YOU WILL LOVE EVERY SECOND OF IT.

Content Advisory: A handful of D-words, S-words, a few B- words, a fair amount of H-words. THREE F-BOMBS. (Not used lightly, though. In context, I wasn’t TOO upset, because that’s just what the characters would have said in such an extreme situation.) Talk of “second base”, clubbing, making out with random guys, and doing “more than kissing.” (Under a mystical influence). There are two bedroom scenes, one gets to shirts having been taken off (Again, mystical influence), and then they stop. The other is implied as sex, but it’s never talked about or described in anyway. My big thing with these books, and these amazing characters can be summed up like this:

Persephone3

 

And that’s how the (non-mystical influence) relationships were handled. It wasn’t taken lightly, it wasn’t cliche, they were equals (no crazy age difference…not one that mattered, anyway), and it was beautiful, and, GET THIS, a HEALTHY relationship!!! However, it’s still for mature readers. They need to be able to understand. 

To Sum it Up: In case you haven’t gotten the drift yet, I ADORED THIS BOOK AND IT’S CHARACTERS. If you love Mythology, read this book! If you love YA, read this book! If you love sweet, clean, romance, read this book! If you want a book that will make you genuinely happy, READ. THIS. BOOK. It has a great romance, great characters, a great world, and an even greater plot! It’s a heartwarming, laugh-out-loud, edge of your seat, GOOD book.

Oh, and by the end of the book, you will desperately want one of these: a living, air plant, necklace. I know I do! :D

Buy one from the Etsy seller, by clicking here!

Buy one from the Etsy seller, by clicking here!

I highly recommend Daughter of the Earth and Sky to readers ages 16+.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

5 thoughts on “Review: Daughter of the Earth and Sky – by Kaitlin Bevis

  1. Pingback: Cover reviews! Daughters of Zeus Trilogy re-released! | Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

  2. Pingback: One Can Only Quote – The 2015 Book Bloggers Love-A-Thon | Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

  3. Pingback: I Ask… Author of the Persephone trilogy, Kaitlin Bevis Answers | Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

  4. Pingback: Review: The Iron Queen – by Kaitlin Bevis | Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

  5. Pingback: “Waiting On” Wednesday – Venus and Adonis | Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

Leave a Reply

