ARC Review: Dangerous – by Shannon Hale

Dangerous

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

 

Title: Dangerous

I received an ARC from On the Same Page ARC Tours. Make sure to check them out! Though I received an ARC, the book was released March 4th. Make sure to check it out!

Author: Shannon Hale

Summary: Maisie Danger Brown just wanted to get away from home for a bit, see something new. She never intended to fall in love. And she never imagined stumbling into a frightening plot that kills her friends and just might kill her, too. A plot that is already changing life on Earth as we know it. There’s no going back. She is the only thing standing between danger and annihilation.

From NY Times bestselling author Shannon Hale comes a novel that asks, How far would you go to save the ones you love? And how far would you go to save everyone else?

Genre/Pages: Science-Fiction/400

Rating: ★★ (3 of 5)

My Review:  I love Shannon Hale. LOVE her. And I love her books. There’s only ever been one thing that annoyed me about her writing… there sometimes seemed to be a sense of … boredom? almost. Sure it’s action-packed, but sometimes you were just WAITING for the story to get on already. Make any sense? Well, at first, this book didn’t match that tendency. In fact, I LOVED THIS BOOK. In the beginning. This book is split into 3 parts. The first part covered a time period of about 1 month, and it alone could’ve been an entire book, and would have been completely rewarding and exciting. The next two parts covered nearly a year, It was a very unbalanced novel. And overall, I was very disappointed. I didn’t like it.

Hero/Heroine: Maisie was a decent heroine, but not quite at the level I would have expected from Hale. Her flighty on-and-off romance was just plain annoying. In a way, I suppose she was like most teenage girls faced with a hot guy who’s paying attention to her, but it made for an infuriating, boy-obsessed, self-absorbed, and, well, BORING heroine. She was a GENIUS, She could’ve been an incredible character, but she just didn’t turn out the way I’d hoped.

Plot: Once more, it had fantastic potential, but just fell flat of what I’d hoped and expected. The beginning was exciting, and had me engrossed, and then complete middle of the book was very boring and broke every rule of timing and events in fictional novels. The last part of the book was exciting and I did enjoy it. In fact, it was an AMAZING climax, one that almost made up for the rest of the book. But the final battle was a real let-down. Boring and stupid. And totally not a battle.

Content Advisory: A lot of violence and death, and substitute cussing. Got annoying, but nothing seriously bad. Sometimes I think author’s just think they have to cuss in some form for it to be a “Young Adult” novel. 

To Sum it Up: I REALLY wish this could’ve been a favorable review. That’s why it’s taken me forever to post this review, because I so desperately wanted to love it. Overall, I found it boring, unexciting, and just unpleasant. The character’s were nice, and the plot was GREAT at times, but overall I just didn’t love it. It’d be a nice, fun, read, but it didn’t live up to Shannon Hale’s standards. Give it a try, if you’re into sci-fi, but this isn’t a raving recommendation, nor is it a scathing one.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

Leave a Reply

