MOVIE REVIEW: Divergent – Advance screening!

Review of the Advance Screening of the DIVERGENT MOVIE.

Divergent

Genre/Length: Dystopian/143 mins.

Rating: ★★ (6 of 5)

My Review: On a tip from the amazing Hypable.com, I was able to win tickets to the red carpet advance screening of the new Divergent movie – 2 and 1/2 weeks before it gets released! Plus, I got to meet Jai Courtney (Eric), and Miles Teller (Peter). It was a fantastic evening!

Favorite Line: Okay, so there were a lot, but this one’s PROBABLY my favorite:

+ Will: “You know, statistically speaking, you should’ve hit the target at least once by now.”

Hero/Heroine: Tris and Four. Now, anybody who knows me, knows that I adore Four and Tris. However, I also wasn’t sold on Shailene and Theo. Well, by the end of this movie, I most certainly was. The chemistry was spectacular, and everything they did was just beautifully executed. IT WAS SO BEYOND PERFECT, I CAN’T EVEN BEGIN TO DESCRIBE THE PERFECTION that was seeing these two on screen together. Theo and Shailene brought these characters to life in a way I’d never thought possible. It was like I was watching the book, on the big screen. It was spectacular.

Plot:  This is were the movie pulled through spectacularly. Everything was straight out of the book – right down to the script. They quoted the book so many times. The world was beautifully brought to life, and they didn’t leave out anything of importance. The fighting was probably my favorite part – it was perfectly choreographed, and I couldn’t tear my eyes away. It was mesmerizing and incredibly realistic. The only thing was changed at all, was the ending. It wasn’t seriously changed, just slightly altered to make for a better conclusion, but nothing of importance was changed, and it all worked spectacularly.

Divergent3

Content Advisory: a few instances of the D-word, 2 of A-word, and 1 of the B-word. This movie is intense. A lot of fighting, death – though no blood is shown or focused on – and violence. Some kissing. A guy tried to convince a girl to have sex, but nothing is ever seen or done, it’s just a short, comical scene. A low PG-13.

To Sum it Up: Did I mention how much I ADORED this movie??? It was so perfect, completely true to the book, and the actors were all phenomenal! I really just couldn’t get enough of this movie – the acting, the choreography, the soundtrack, the plot, the world, EVERYTHING. I know this is kinda a non-sensical fangirl review, but it’s the truth. When this movie gets released on March 21st, I recommend that all, ages 13+ go to see it! If you liked the book, you’ll really like the movie, if you haven’t read the book, you’ll really like the movie. IT IS 100% PERFECTION. <3

Divergent2Pictures courtesy of Hypable.com.

2 thoughts on “MOVIE REVIEW: Divergent – Advance screening!

  1. Yours is the first review I’ve read so far. I’m going to a screening tonight, and after your review I’m so excited! I’m still not sure about my thoughts on the two leads, but I’m hopeful! I’m so happy to hear that they’ve stuck to the book. Finally Hollywood is catching on!

Leave a Reply

