2013 End of Year Book Survey!

Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner created the End of Year Book Survey back in 2010, but this is my first time completing it!

Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner created the End of Year Book Survey back in 2010, and I’m excited to be joining this year! (Image links to The Perpetual Page-Turner)

(Images from The Perpetual Page-Turner)

(Images from The Perpetual Page-Turner)

Just so y’all know in advance… The answer to nearly all of these questions would be, plain and simple: HARRY POTTER. However, to prevent extreme repetitiveness, let’s just assume in advance that all of these answers are second to Harry Potter. kthxbai.

1. Best Book You Read In 2013? (If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

Yeah… I’m cheating.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Day of Doom, the final book in the 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers series. I had dedicated so much time (and SO MANY books!) to that series. And the ending was just… disappointing. Nothing was wrapped up nicely, and it just seemed haphazardly thrown together. :(

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013? 

Wake up Missing – by Kate Messner. Hands down! When I picked up this sci-fi YA novel at the library… honestly, I liked the cover. The premise sounded interesting. Then I began to read. And, simply put, I couldn’t stop! WOW, this book was phenomenal! Very reminiscent of Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Sci-fi standalone novels. Seriously, if you’re into MPH’s work, or REAL YA sci-fi? Check this book out! It is AMAZING! I seriously need to read some of Kate’s other books!

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

Though I’ll mention this again later: The False Prince – By Jennifer A. Nielsen. Though I originally read it shortly after it’s release in 2012, I re-read it in 2013, and I cannot say enough good things about it! I have recommended this series far and wide! And the Ranger’s Apprentice series. I’ve recommended them countless times as well!

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

Before I answer, I have a confession to make: Yes, it’s true, it wasn’t until 2013 that I read this book. Please forgive my horrible error. But, I have now begun my journey into The Ender-verse written by the amazing Orson Scott Card! So far, my favorite is Speaker for the Dead, but I’m excited to continue reading this great series!

And, OF COURSE, The Work & The Glory series. That series has been my life this year, and is one of the reasons I only read 100 books. But it was so worth it. If you’ve ever wanted to read a TRUE & enjoyable account of the history of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, definitely read this series. it will change your life. :)

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Robin Mckinley and Jack Weyland. I was introduced to Robin through Outlaws of Sherwood (FANTASTIC book, by the way.) I began my Jack Weyland journey with, take a wild guess, best-seller Charly. They are both such phenomenal authors! I am loving there work so far!

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

Cinder – By Marissa Meyer. Steampunk Cinderella? Eh, I was doubtful. And WAY out of my comfort zone when I finally gave into the countless recommendations and picked up this fantastic book!

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

Oooh… Hard one! I’d have to go with The Chaos of Stars – By Kiersten White and The Royal Ranger – by John Flanagan.

I went into Chaos expecting to enjoy the mythology. But I couldn’t put the book down! Everything about it was perfect! And the Royal Ranger. Final book in the Ranger’s Apprentice series… suffice it to say: It was a smashing finale that left me satisfied about finally leaving the world I’ve known and loved for so long.

9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Dealing with Dragons – By Patricia C. Wrede. Though I’ve read it countless times, I’m sure I’ll read it many more! It never gets old. :) And, of course, All the HP books!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

I have four, actually. United We Spy – By Ally Carter, Unremembered – By Jordan Brody, Princess of the Silver Woods – By Jessica Day George, Poison – By Bridget Zinn, and Champion – By Marie Lu.

11. Most memorable character in 2013? 

Ender Wiggin. And Nathan Steed from The Work & The Glory. And Sage, from Runaway King. As one of my friends stated: “Sage is defintion of SASS.”

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

Allegiant – By Veronica Roth. Towards the middle of the book, the plot started dragging, but the literary perfection and beauty of that ending made up for EVERYTHING.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013? 

The Work and the Glory series. Best books I have ever read. Also, Brittany – By Jack Weyland. The (fictional) story of a teenage victim of date rape, and her recovery from it.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read? 

Ender’s Game. Duh.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

Let me go cheat via Goodreads… Ah! Yes! I have a few (and, I’m sure, many more that I have forgotten):

Above all else, I think that you are a compulsive liar.”
My laughter was tense, but sincere. “Hardly. In fact, I consider myself a compulsive truth teller. It’s only that everyone else seems compelled to misunderstand me.”
― Jennifer A. NielsenThe Runaway King

“Keep practicing,” he told her.

“Until I get it right?” she said. But he corrected her.

“No. Until you don’t get it wrong.”

― John FlanaganThe Royal Ranger

“But for them it was only the beginning of the real story. All their life in this world and all their adventures in Narnia had only been the cover and the title page: now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on forever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.”

― C.S. LewisThe Last Battle

“Hi,” he says. “I’m Daniel.”
“Hi,” I reply. “I’m June.”
― Marie LuChampion

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

No idea what the shortest is, but the longest is All is Well – By Gerald N. Lund. The conclusion to the Work and the Glory series, coming in at 900 pages. And I loved every one!

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? Be careful of spoilers!

CHAMPION – By Marie Lu. The ending! AGH!!! SO PERFECT!!! There aren’t even words!

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Oooh… Hard. I have a few. Sorry!

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

One that I have not yet mentioned: Chasing the Prophecy – By Brandon Mull. Spectacular conclusion to The Beyonders series!

20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

Poison –By Bridget Zinn. Though I had wanted to read it, I doubt I ever ACTUALLY would have gotten around to it, if one of my best friends hadn’t literally forced it into my hands. Am I glad she did! I LOVED IT!

21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

I’ve been ALL OVER the place this year, but, as usual, fantasy pulled ahead in the genre race. :)

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Not really anyone NEW this year. Ry from The Chaos of Stars was pretty amazing. Does Robin Hood count? Not really a CRUSH, but I do love him! Just not that way. Particularly from The Outlaws of Sherwood.

BBC's Robin Hood.

BBC’s Robin Hood.

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

Poison – By Bridget Zinn. Hands down. That book was amazing.

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo – By Obert Skye. Though the plot and characters really pulled me in, and I loved them, what REALLY had me hooked here was the GORGEOUS imagery, and style of writing. The whole narrator-talking-to-reader deal? LOVE it! Very C.S. Lewis-y.

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

Okay, there is no way to answer this honestly. PROBABLY United We Spy – By Ally Carter. The whole premise of the series is just fun. So of course I loved it.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

A lot of books this year. Charly – By Jack Weyland, Champion – By Marie Lu, Allegiant – By Veronica Roth, and The Royal Ranger – By John Flanagan. To avoid spoilers, I won’t elaborate on WHY I was crying. :)

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

Enchanted – By Althea Kontis. How had I NOT heard about this fantastic new re-telling before???

28. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Quite a few actually. 6 completed, 3 failed. I think that’s pretty good. Check them out HERE: My 2013 Challenges!

2014-books-1024x255

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014?

Le Morte d’Arthur: King Arthur and the Legends of the Round Table. Also, The Ugly Stepsister Strikes Back! –By Sariah Wilson.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)?

The Shadow Throne, final book in the Ascendance Trilogy!

3. 2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I’m not very in the loop on debuts, unfortunately. If you know of any good ones, I’d love to hear about them!

4. Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating in 2014?

The Heroes of Olympus series – By Rick Riordan.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014?

I want to stress less. You know me. I don’t write posts every week, I don’t review all the books I read, and I’m not very timely in getting to For-Review books. All of these things stress me out. I want to find the careful balance between doing it all and doing none. :)

Well, that is my 2013 wrap-up! Here’s to a fantastic new year and new semester!

One thought on “2013 End of Year Book Survey!

  1. OMG I LOVE those pictures! Caleo. That’s awesome. I’m desperately anticipating The Blood of Olympus too.

    I’m definitely planning on reading Le Morte d’Arthur. I just got The Once and Future King for Christmas so I’m starting there. I plan to read lots of Arthurian stories.

    I’m glad you liked the ending of Allegiant.I’m about to start the series and I’ve been hearing bad things about the ending of Allegiant, so that makes me feel better.

    Good luck with your 2014 goals!

Leave a Reply

