Review: Champion – By Marie Lu

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Title: Champion

Author: Marie Lu

Summary:

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

Genre/Pages: Dystopian/369

Rating: ★★★ (6 of 5)

My Review: How many different ways are there to say: I ABSOLUTELY ADORED THIS ENTIRE BOOK?Best. Book. I. Have. Ever. Read. I loved it so much. I was terrified that it would be a complete crash-and-burn, like Mockingjay… but it wasn’t. It was beautifully perfect. Many people will hate the ending, but me? I LOVED it.

I first fell in love with these characters a year and a half ago. And on November 11th, I fell in love with them all over again. They are so… real. So flawed, and yet, that’s what makes them so perfect in my mind. Especially June and Day. I was afraid that their romance would overtake the book, and to a certain extent it did. But the action, the plot, the rebellion, the government, none of that was sacrificed so that there could be more time spent on the romance.

The ending. It was beautiful. I don’t like Disney-perfect endings. I like it when the story is left open, when you don’t know everything that will ever happen. And that is exactly what Marie did with Champion. The world building fascinated me, especially when we got to see some other countries. I loved that.

Content Advisory: One.. passionate scene with sex implied, but never seen/talked about. It’s a very glossed over scene. A few people die, nothing bloody or gorey. Just intense. There’s a bit of kissing, both in between a girl and a guy, and, once, in between 2 guys.

To Sum it Up:  I loved everything. But I’ve said that before, haven’t I? I was upset that Marie felt like she needed a bed scene, but at least she didn’t focus on it. Overall, if you love dystopian action, with a touch of romance, despair, LOTS OF CRYING, and an overall amazing book. Make sure to read this one! I recommend this book to 13+.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

Leave a Reply

