Review: Allegiant – By Veronica Roth

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Title: Allegiant

Author: Veronica Roth

Summary: The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Genre/Pages: Dystopian/526

Rating: ★★(5 of 5)

My Review: Are y’all ready for this? The next, 5 or so reviews are going to be 5 or 6 stars. I’ve just read too many amazing books!

I’ll admit, I won’t give this book AS smashing of a review as I would’ve before reading Champion by Marie Lu. That doesn’t mean, however, that I wasn’t ABSOLUTELY in love with this book!

I was afraid Veronica would pull a Mockingjay. Gladly, no such thing happened! Tris did NOT go crazy, and everything she did made perfect sense, in a Tris sort of way. All the other  characters were also handled brilliantly, and they all FELT very real. It was a fast paced book, but there was still time to get to know all of the characters.

My only real problem with this book was the double POV. I loved the idea, and I loved how Veronica executed it, but I hated that it was impossible for me to tell the difference in Tris’ and Tobias’ voices. They ‘sounded’ identical. That was incredibly frustrating. The ending, though? I ABSOLUTELY ADORED IT. Some people are going to hate it, but it was beautifully executed, logical, satisfying, and it brought complete closure to the story. I absolutely loved it. It was perfect.

Content Advisory: Ugh… There was one serious make out session, one sort of serious make out session that got interrupted, and then one scene where a girl took of her shirt and then  slept next to a guy (also without a shirt). And a few cuss words. Gah. Why do authors think that they have to add swearing and inappropriate scenes to make a book good? That’s what makes me HATE a book, not love it.

To Sum it Up: Fast paced, exciting, but still with that amazing life lesson teaching Veronica is so good at, Allegiant was a book that I could LOVE wholeheartedly, and actually become a better person because I read it. I recommend it for 13+.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

3 thoughts on “Review: Allegiant – By Veronica Roth

  1. I kept having to look back to see who the narrator was. Lol! Still loved the book though. For me, as a fellow author, I also appreciated Veronica Roth for having the guts to write the ending she did. Dystopias are not all rainbows and butterflies, yet they can still uplift and inspire us in their own way. You can check out my review here if you want. Happy reading!
    http://dustycrabtree.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/teen-tuesday-review-of-allegiant-3rd-in-divergent-series/

    • Quite right you are! I’m not sure how I did that either. I guess I wasn’t thinking that sentence through very well. Let me see if i can explain… I LOVED the different opinions, thoughts, feelings, and emotions of the different characters, and how they collaborated. BUT, it would take Four saything something obvious, like “my father abused me as a child” to suddenly realize. OH! This is TOBIAS. NOT Tris.
      I’m really not sure if that makes any more sense. :)

Leave a Reply

