Review: Enchanted – by Althea Kontis

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Title: Enchanted

Author: Althea Kontis

Summary: It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past – and hers?

Genre/Pages: Fantasy/305

Rating: ★★(4 of 5)

My Review: A fun, exciting, fairy-tale retelling, cleverly meshing many different fairytales to create one  seamless plot, at first I just ‘sorta liked’ Enchanted. It was fun, yes, but the insta-love was (though more realistic than most) still not my favorite aspect, and the plot seemed to move fast without getting anywhere, if that makes ANY sense.

However, towards the middle of the book, it really started picking up speed, remind me of something written by Gail Carson Levine, or a similar author. It was incredible. I really liked it. The plot picked up, getting more interesting and intense, more dangerous and complex. (WOW. Did y’all just see that rhyme? Not intended!) while the characters get more in-depth, and Althea Kontis truly leaves you stunned as the plot begins to unfold, and you see the big picture.

I loved how many different aspects there were to this story. How many different characters, (the characters! And all their amazing sub-plots!) fairy-tales, family fueds, and romances all woven into one fantastical story. The world that Althea Kontis creates with Enchanted absolutely fascinates me, and I would definitely say that this is among my Top Five Favorite Cinderella (/Frog Prince/Swan Princess/Jack & The Beanstalk/a lot more I’m probably forgetting) Re-tellings.

Content Advisory: A teenage girl is killed, non-graphically, but painfully. Some scenes of intense action.

To Sum it Up: Are you looking for a fantasy novel that’s about MORE than just romance? A novel with action, adventure, excitement, suspense, and magic, both light and dark? Well then you’ve come to the right place! Enchanted by Althea Kontis is all that and so much more. I highly recommend it to readers 8-Adult. You’re never to old for a fairytale! :)

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

7 thoughts on “Review: Enchanted – by Althea Kontis

  1. I thought I had heard of this, but now it doesn’t sound familiar–but it DOES sound like one I need to put on my TBR list. I was already thinking so, and then you played the Levine card… :)

  2. I remember reading “Ella Enchanted” when I was little. I’ll definitely try to pick this up next time I need new material to read :)

Leave a Reply

