Review: Wednesdays in the Tower – By Jessica Day George

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Cover links to goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Cover links to goodreads book page.

Title: Wednesdays in the Tower Author: Jessica Day George Summary: A castle that is constantly rearranging itself, and a young royal family sworn to protect it… Celie, Rolf, and their beloved Castle Glower are back in this exciting sequel. Strange things are afoot in Castle Glower: new rooms, corridors, and even stables keep arriving, even when they aren’t needed. Celie’s brother Bran, the new Royal Wizard, has his hands full cataloguing an entire storeroom full of exotic and highly dangerous weapons, while Celie has her hands full . . . raising the creature that hatches from a giant egg she finds! Will they be able to find out what’s making the Castle behave this way in time?

Genre/Pages: Fantasy/235

Rating: ★★ (3.5 of 5)

My Review: Sequel to the fantastic children’s (middle-grade) novel Tuesdays at the CastleI had high expectations for Wednesdays in the Tower. Unfortunately, it didn’t quite live up to my expectations, and overall, I definitely liked the 1st book better, pace-wise.

That aside, however, I still thorougly enjoyed this book. It was great getting to come back to Celie and Castle Glower (and even Rufus!), and it was still exciting , overall. It just took a while to get to the climax, which was then almost rushed (or maybe I was just speed reading. Hm.).

The plot twist was entirely unexpected. I can guarantee to you that I NEVER EVER saw that one coming. This book did a lot more world-building then the last one, and I LOVED it! As you probably know, one of my favorite parts of books is the world building. I absolutely adore world-building. And the characters! They were just as great (if not better) than in Tuesdays. My favorite would definitely be Bran. Celie’s great too, though.

Content Advisory: Absolutely nothing. Wednesdays in the Tower is a completely clean middle-grade novel.

To Sum it Up: Fun, exciting, humorous, and clever, Wednesdays at the Tower is very Jessica Day George. AND THE ENDING! She’s just evil. Pure evil. I will absolutely DIE if I can’t read the next book! I don’t know if I’ll be able to wait that long. Awful cliff-hanger, just FYI. I highly recommend this book to ages 6-Adult. Fun for the whole family!

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

Update on ARC AUGUST:

ARC-August-Banner

I’m currently in the middle of reading The Ifs by J.D. Pooker.

17838989

One thought on “Review: Wednesdays in the Tower – By Jessica Day George

  1. Pingback: A Griffin in a Tower | Tales of the Marvelous

Leave a Reply

