Review: The Son of Sobek – By Rick Riordan

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Title: The Son of Sobek

Author: Rick Riordan

Summary: In this audio e-book short story narrated by Rick Riordan, Carter Kane is investigating rumored sightings of a monster on Long Island when he runs into something else: a mysterious boy named Percy Jackson. And their meeting isn’t exactly friendly. . . . Includes a sneak peek chapter from HOUSE OF HADES, Book Four in the Heroes of Olympus series.

Genre/Pages: Science-Fiction/307

Rating: ★★ (6 of 5)

My Review: I. Freakin. Loved. This. Book. 645 KB of utter perfection. It completely and totally satisfied my inner (Let’s be honest here, guys) fan girl.

Perseus Jackson. Meeting Carter Kane. And an Ancient Egyptian monster. Narrated by Rick Riordan himself. Can you really ask for anything better? Reading that short story was the half hour I’ve been waiting for my entire life. Er, well, my whole life since May 5th, 2010. You get what I mean.

Their meeting was perfectly executed, and I just love the realism of everything. Their confusion, their suspicions, their realizations… Holy Hephestaus, this was a fantastic short story! I wasn’t as impressed with the first chapter of House of Hades (at the end of this e-book), but I still have high hopes for the book. And I’m 99% sure I know who’s gonna be closing the Doors of Death from the Hades side.

Anyway, the ending of Son of Sobek? Beautiful perfection! Rick stated:

“Hopefully I’ll be able to continue that story line, so you can find out what happens with Percy and Carter next, though as I said, a lot of other irons in the fire . . .”

PleasepleasePLEASE tell me this means that Egypt with clash with Rome and Greece in the final showdown in HoO book 5! Please! But yes, he definitely left loose threads for a sequel, and I’m just hoping that is a clever way of incorporating them into HoO. Hey, A girl can hope, right?

Content Advisory: Umm… Demigod swearing? “Oh my gods”, “Holy Hera”, etc. Intense Action.

To Sum it Up: Can you say PURE AWESOMENESS? The humor, the action, the ingenuity, the sarcasm. I’ve missed Percy Jackson. This book lives up to everything I ever dreamed, and more. A great quick read in the PJ/KC/HoO world. I highly recommend it to fan-girls (and well, everyone else) everywhere who have read Percy Jackson and Kane Chronicles.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

One thought on “Review: The Son of Sobek – By Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves! |

Leave a Reply

