Review: 52 Reasons to Hate my Father – By Jessica Brody

9791906

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com, image links to goodreads book page.

 

Title: 52 Reasons to Hate my Father

Author: Jessica Brody

Summary: Lexington Larrabee has never to work a day in her life. After all, she’s the heiress to the multi-billion-dollar Larrabee Media empire. And heiresses are not supposed to work. But then again, they’re not supposed to crash brand new Mercedes convertibles into convenience stores on Sunset Blvd either.

Which is why, on Lexi’s eighteen birthday, her ever-absent, tycoon father decides to take a more proactive approach to her wayward life. Every week for the next year, she will have to take on a different low-wage job if she ever wants to receive her beloved trust fund. But if there’s anything worse than working as a maid, a dishwasher, and a fast-food restaurant employee, it’s dealing with Luke, the arrogant, albeit moderately attractive, college intern her father has assigned to keep tabs on her.

Genre/Pages: Fiction/340

Rating: ★★★ (5 of 5)

My Review: Okay, I’ll admit it, when I first saw this book, I was not sure what to expect. And whatever I did expect, was nothing like what I got. What I got was 340 pages of full-on FUN.

When spoiled-brat heiress Lexington Larabee’s father tells her she has to work to get access to her trust fund – 52 jobs, nonetheless! – she is shocked and furious. Lexington Larabee made for quite a fantastic protagonist, she was really (dare I say it?) relatable, in a way. Yeah, she was spoiled rotten, but you could understand her, and root for her.

Content Advisory: Quite a bit of clubbing and getting drunk – always shown with negative consequences – and one drunk scene of very passionate kissing, stopped before anything more could happen, and shown in a negative light 

To Sum it Up: The plot was fun and quite enjoyable, and all in all, I loved it. It was pretty much a ‘fluff’ book. I mean, sure, it had great morals and laughs, but overall? It was just a lot of fun. 52 Reasons to Hate my Father is definitely a Young Adult book, and I highly recommend it to 13+.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

One thought on “Review: 52 Reasons to Hate my Father – By Jessica Brody

  1. This sounds really neat, although at the same time it’s one of those mindless novels and reminds me of all those day-time TV shows about silver spoon kids or people with no real concept of the value of a dollar.

Leave a Reply

