Review: Chasing the Prophecy – By Brandon Mull

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Title: Chasing the Prophecy (Beyonders, #3)

Author: Brandon Mull

Summary: Jason and Rachel were not born in Lyrian. They did not grow up in Lyrian. But after all of the battles and losses, the triumphs and adventures, and most of all, the friendships forged in this fantastical world, Lyrian has become home to them in a way they never could have imagined.

And so, armed now with the prophecy of a dying oracle, they have gone on their separate quests—each surrounded by brave and powerful allies—knowing that the chance for success is slim. But Jason and Rachel are ready at last to become the heroes Lyrian needs, no matter the cost.

Genre/Pages: Fantasy/512

Rating: ★★★ (6 of 5)

My Review: Okay, so I know I say this a lot, but this is different. This book is  amazing. Probably one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read. This book exceeded my wildest expectations. It pulled me in. Had me entranced, involved, emotional, tense, and  left me having learned something. And this may sounds cheezy, but Beyonders is a book with good morals, not just good fun.

It’s been a little over a year since I last read the 2nd book in this series, so I had a bit of a rough start getting into this one, but after I was in far enough in to be able to remember everything that’d happened earlier, I loved it. Sent on  different quests, many of the favorite characters were split up, and the 3 parts of the rebellion were being told from different POV’s. Sometimes this can lead to confusion, and frustration, but Mull did an incredible job with it. Timing everything perfectly for maximum suspense.

This book really pulled you in. There was no boredom, just fast-paced adventure. The characters were great; there was so much character development, and absolutely zero last-book-let-down. The plot was fantastic, and kept me guessing. I’m going to miss this series. I’m gonna miss these characters. This is Gregor and the Code of the Claw all OVER again! Chasing the Prophecy had me in tears, more than once. Dang, this book is beyond incredible, beyond fantastic, it’s electrifying. I’m going to miss Lyrian.

Content Advisory: Quite a few deaths. A lot actually. Some very unpleasant deaths, and some violence. Nothing really blood-guts-and-gore type. Nothing you’d find in an adult book, but still, some pretty unpleasant stuff.

To Sum it up: In Rick Riordan’s words: “An irresistible mix of adventure, humor, and magic.” I 100% agree, but it goes above and beyond that, this is one of those books that you’ll remember forever, and Brandon Mull creates a world you’ll love to go back and visit. Beyonders: Chasing the Prophecy is a book you won’t regret reading, and,  I recommend it for ages 11+.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

Leave a Reply

