Review: The Adventures of Robin Hood – By Roger Lancelyn Green

93008

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Title: The Adventures of Robin Hood

Author: Roger Lancelyn Green

Summary: Robin Hood is champion of the poor and oppressed against the cruel power of Prince John and the brutal Sheriff of Nottingham. He takes refuge with his Merrie Men in the vast Sherwood Forest, emerging time and again to outwit his enemies with daring and panache. This classic version brings sense and clarity as well as excitement to the varied myths, ballads and legends about Robin’s adventures.

Genre/Pages: (Historical) Fiction/320

Rating: ★★★ (4.5 of 5)

My Review: I didn’t expect to like this book, due to my obsession with the BBC TV show Robin Hood. However, despite the fact that I have a bit of a skewed idea of “Robin Hood”, I truly enjoyed this “original” (or as close as you can get) version of the tale of Robin Hood.

It was a fun read, and I really enjoyed it. It was quite well written, taken, as much as possible, from old ballads and plays about Robin Hood, I really liked it. Green truly picked the best versions of all the different stories, and I loved how they all worked together! Roger Lancelyn Green did an incredible job of bringing this story, this place, to life.

The characters were exciting and interesting, and I loved them. I met new characters that I’d never heard of before in any of the movie versions of this story, and I got to better understand the old characters I already knew and loved. Overall, this was a great, fun story, and I loved it.

Content Advisory: Some people die, nothing graphic or intense.

To Sum it Up: Written as a collection of stories, Roger Lancelyn Green truly captures the essence of Robin Hood in this book, and I’d recommend it for anyone 8+.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Adventures of Robin Hood – By Roger Lancelyn Green

  1. It made me so excited to see you are reviewing this book! I read this as a kid — I’ve been a big fan of everything Hood for most of my life and have seen/read several adaptations. Like you said, I remember enjoying how Green pulls in several sources and characters you don’t normally see in a Robin Hood novel, like the story of him and Ivanhoe. If you’re interested in another “classic” adaptation, I encourage you to check out Howard Pyle’s version. It’s probably my favorite. Great post!

Leave a Reply

