Author Interview + Giveaway!

Annie Laurie Cechini

Annie Laurie Cechini is a connoisseur of every type of geekery. She signs books with a sonic screwdriver, owns a Tribble named Nimoy, and often threatens in all seriousness to name a child after a character from the Star Wars lexicon. Her first novel, LIBERTY, will be released through Rhemalda Publishing on February 1st, 2013. Annie also co-authored and produced CHRISTMAS WISHES, an anthology that benefits the family of murder victim Sam LaCara.

As you may know, I had the pleasure of reviewing Annie Laurie Cechini‘s book, LibertyNow, I am happy to announce, I have an author interview AND a giveaway for y’all! 

Me: Can you tell us a little about yourself?
Annie: I was born in Sacramento, California, and while I have never surfed, I am definitely solar powered. My favorite places to blow my allowance are (in no particular order): Marbles, The Disney Store, B&N, and ThinkGeek.com
Me: What is your favorite font?
Annie: Oooh, tricky. I shall say…it depends. If it’s a reading font, I like Arial. Easy to read, straightforward. If it’s for a design project, I tend to lean towards the thematic stuff. I’m corny that way. :)
Me: In your personal opinion, what would readers like most about your book?
Annie: Depends on the reader, honestly. I think there are likeable aspects of Liberty, but I’m the author. For better or worse I’m hopelessly biased.
Me: (Without spoiling anything) how did you come up with the title of your book?
Annie: The concept of liberty and how we choose to use it is intentionally woven throughout the book, and so I purposefully named the ship Liberty so that I could use it in the title. I’m sneaky like that.
Me: Have you always wanted to be an author, or is that a more recent dream?
Annie: I never thought I could be, for various reasons, so it is a more recent dream. As it turns out, you can do anything if you are willing to learn and to work hard.
Me: If given the choice, would you spend a month in the world of Liberty?
Annie: Not a month. Maybe half an hour. Just long enough to breathe it in, but not long enough for it to do permanent lung damage. :D
Me: Who was your favorite character to write and why?
Annie: I liked writing Dix and Berrett, because there was so much as a writer for me to play off of.
Me: Do any of the characters in Liberty remind you of yourself or other people you know?
Annie: I get this question a lot, and honestly, the answer is no. I intentionally wrote characters as different from myself as I could possible get. Obviously anything I write will come through my personal filter, but I try not to author myself into my stories.
Me: If you could meet any fictional character (from Liberty or otherwise), who it be and why?
Annie: Hobs. I can’t tell you why, you’ll have to read the book. :)
Me: What books have most influenced your life?
Annie: Oh wow. Uhhhhh…so…many…books. Fiction? Non-fiction?? TOO MANY OPTIONS! I think my brain just crashed trying to produce that big of a list. Um, we’ll go with fiction. Narnia chronicles, Castle in the Attic,  Huckleberry Finn, The Count of Monte Cristo, Little Women, Jurassic Park, Jane Eyre, Hunger Games trilogy, Shakespeare, Hugo…GAH. So many books!
Me: What is your favorite / least favorite part of being an author?
Annie: Favorite: talking to/meeting new people
Least Favorite: reading what I’ve written fifty bajillion times. Revisions are great and it’s where I find my stories, but they also make me want to pull my hair out one strand at a time.
Me: So, Annie, what can we expect within the next few years? A sequel to Liberty, or something entirely different?
Annie: I really don’t know. The one certainty in the publishing industry is that nothing is certain. I am working on a couple of different projects that I’m excited about. I guess we’ll have to just wait and see what happens! :)
Me: Is there anything you would like to say to your readers and fans?
Annie: THANK YOU thank you thank you thank you thank you. I truly appreciate your giving me the gift of your time and your imagination. I hope I can do justice to both! *HUGS!*
Thanks Lynette. I appreciate your questions and taking the time to read Liberty and do this interview. Have a fantastic week!Take care, 
Annie Laurie

Thanks so  much, Annie, for letting me interview you! It has been a pleasure. Keep doing what you’re doing and you will be amazing! You are a great author, and I loved this opportunity to get to know you a little bit better. And I must say thank you to Matt, also, for coordinating all this with me. Y’all are amazing! :-)
Again, readers,  don’t forget to enter the giveaway HERE ! You won’t regret it. Go! I’m terribly sorry that I couldn’t attach the giveaway to this post, but that shouldn’t stop you from entering it! :-)
Thanks so much!
Lynette ♥
2 thoughts on “Author Interview + Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

