Review: Liberty – By Annie Laurie Cechini

15985910

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads page.

Title: Liberty

Author: Annie Laurie Cechini

Summary:

A STOLEN VIAL

Eternigen is the miracle drug that allows humans to travel in deep space. Seventeen-year-old space captain Tabitha “Dix” Dixon has the only vial of Eternigen in existence.

A RELENTLESS ENEMY

Eira Ninge always gets what she wants. She wants the Eternigen, and she’ll do anything-and kill anyone-to get it.

A DEADLY CURSE

Since Dix stole the vial, everyone she loves seems fated to die. When young resistance messenger Jordan Berrett steals her heart, she has to decide if it’s worth risking his life to let him get close. When Dix is involved, even falling in love can turn deadly.

A CHANCE FOR FREEDOM

If Dix can get her hands on more Eternigen, she and her crew can escape the solar system, leaving her dark past behind. But getting the Eternigen won’t be easy, and the bodies keep piling up. In the end, the cost of freedom may be too high.

Genre/Pages: YA Science Fiction/304

Rating: ★★★ (4.5 of 5)

My Review: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. When I read the synopsis, I got excited, it sounded like a really great book… I wasn’t disappointed. Liberty went above and beyond my expectations. Want to get your own copy of this book? I highly recommend entering the giveaway HERE. It’s completely free, and open until May 12th.

Let’s start off with the plot. At first I was dubious. A miracle drug that can take you to deep space? I wasn’t sure how that was all going to play out, but I shouldn’t have worried. The plot was great! Fast paced without getting in the way of the story. Debut novel by self published author Annie Laurie Cechini, Liberty was very engaging, and I quickly got pulled into the story, which means a lot. When I get ‘pulled into a story’, what I mean is ‘freaking-out-yelling-at-the-characters-oh-my-gosh-I-can’t-believe-what-just-happened-crying-my-eyes-out’. That is what happens when I get pulled into a story.

All that said, however, it wasn’t a perfect story. There were some scenes that just completely threw me off, that I just couldn’t understand the point of. That said, however, I still absolutely loved this book. The characters were strong, and you really get attached to them. It was really great getting to see the  character development of Dix, she was a really believable character, and one I could totally relate too.  And, oh my gosh, the ending! I can’t say anything, but… Wow.  So amazing.

Content Advisory: There was a fair amount of fake swearing. Multiple deaths, but nothing graphic.

To Sum it up: A great new story, full of action, comedy, excitement, strong morals, and just a touch of romance. Liberty is an emotional rollercoaster, that I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone over the age of 11.

All the views and opinions contained here are my own. Feel free to disagree with them! Comment, and let me know what you thought of the book, good or bad, so long as you keep it polite. I try my best to respond to every comment. Thank you!

One thought on “Review: Liberty – By Annie Laurie Cechini

  1. Pingback: Author Interview + Giveaway! | Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

Leave a Reply

