Review: The Runaway King – By Jennifer A. Nielson

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Title: The Runaway King (The Ascendance Trilogy, #2)

Author: Jennifer A. Nielson

Summary: A kingdom teetering on the brink of destruction. A king gone missing. Who will survive? Find out in the highly anticipated sequel to Jennifer A. Nielsen’s blockbuster THE FALSE PRINCE!

Just weeks after Jaron has taken the throne, an assassination attempt forces him into a deadly situation. Rumors of a coming war are winding their way between the castle walls, and Jaron feels the pressure quietly mounting within Carthya. Soon, it becomes clear that deserting the kingdom may be his only hope of saving it. But the further Jaron is forced to run from his identity, the more he wonders if it is possible to go too far. Will he ever be able to return home again? Or will he have to sacrifice his own life in order to save his kingdom?

Genre/Pages: YA Fantasy/352

Rating: ★★★ (6 of 5)

My Review: Oh, my gosh, this book was SO amazing! Where do I even start? With the first book, I suppose. The False Prince was breathtaking-ly amazing, and, I must admit, when I heard there was a sequel, I wasn’t happy. How could anyone, anyone, create a sequel to do justice to that book? I didn’t think it was possible.

I shouldn’t have worried. The Runaway King went above and beyond my expectations, and I loved it even more than The False Prince, if that’s at all possible. Everything about this book was just… perfect. The story, for one thing. It always kept me guessing. It was fast-paced, suspenseful, and heart-wrenching. After a while my family just gave up on wondering why I was screaming and gasping and laughing so much.

The characters, (ohmygosh, the characters!) were just brilliant.  They were so deep and complex, and…perfect. Especially Sage. Sage kept me laughing, even when I was on the brink of tears. He is the definition of sassy, and I love it. They were all such awesome characters, and so realistic. They made mistakes, they messed up, and yet, they were so perfect.

Content Advisory: Umm… I can’t think of anything, really. The whole story is pretty intense, but that’s about it.

To Sum it up: Heart-stopping action, incredible characters, the perfect amount of suspense and adventure, and just a touch of romance, I would recommend The Runaway King to anyone, especially fans of the Ranger’s Apprentice series, over the age 10+.

All the views and opinions contained here are my own. Feel free to disagree with them! Comment, and let me know what you thought of the book, good or bad, so long as you keep it polite. I try my best to respond to every comment. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

