Review: Mind Games – By Kiersten White

12578294

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com

Title: Mind Games

Author: Kiersten White

Genre/Pages: Science Fiction/237

Rating: ★★★ (3.5 of 5)

Summary: Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.

My Review: Being a huge fan of Kiersten’s work, I was ecstatic to learn she was writing another series – this one a ” YA psychological thriller”? Yes, please! Not to mention, the cover is gorgeous! Well, needless to say, I was not disappointed.

Mind Games was told from the switching point of view’s of sisters Sofia and Annabelle, and I really enjoyed the effect that created. It was really fascinating to see the story from both sister’s POV, see their actions through their own eyes, and those of the sister. It really added a whole new level of suspense to the story. The constant flashbacks, however,  were a bit confusing. It was really difficult to keep track of what was “6 months ago” and what was “Monday evening”; once I got the hang of it though, I did enjoy it.

The constantly switching times and POV’s did tend to slow the story down, but not necessarily in a bad way. Each new entry helped to unravel the mystery of these girl’s, the world they live in, and their actions and motives. The characters themselves were interesting. The one thing I loved the most about this book, though, was actually 2 things. 1) The focus was not on romance, instead it focused on the strong friendship Fia and Anna shared. 2) The romance aspects weren’t you’re basic ‘instalove’ or had the ‘inevitability factor’. I was actually, unusually interested in them. In how it would turn out. And yet through all that, romance wasn’t an overpowering factor.

Content Advisory: There are two make-out scenes, but don’t go beyond passionate kissing. A character goes “clubbing” multiple times, nothing really bad happens. A character gets drunk multiple times. One “h*ll”.

To Sum it up: Though it didn’t exceed my expectations, I did enjoy this book. An intense story of (sisterly) love, supernatural powers, the sacrifices that come with them; Mind Games was a book that kept me guessing, and, overall was well worth reading. Definitely a YA novel,  I’d recommend this book for 12+.

With this book I have COMPLETED the 2013 Feminist Reads Challenge!!!

With this book I have COMPLETED the 2013 Feminist Reads Challenge!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All the views and opinions contained here are my own. Feel free to disagree with them! Comment, and let me know what you thought of the book, good or bad, so long as you keep it polite. I try my best to respond to every comment. Thank you!

One thought on “Review: Mind Games – By Kiersten White

  1. I really want to read this! And I love how it focuses more on the relationship between the sisters than a romantic relationship. Great review!

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog recently (or not so recently–I’m sorry it has taken me so long to respond) and for following! I’m now following you back. :D

Leave a Reply

