Prodigy – By Marie Lu

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com

Title: Prodigy

 Author: Marie Lu

 Genre/Pages: Dystopian/384

 Rating: ★★★★★★ (6 of 5)*

 Summary: June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action.

My Review: This book. Just took my heart. And broke it into a million pieces. Aside from that, though, it was amazing! Of course, I bought Prodigy the day it came out, and I was skeptical. I wasn’t sure how Marie Lu could make a sequel as amazing as Legend without falling prey to the typical second-book-lag…

Never fear! This book was action-packed to the max! Yet, even with all that action, never once did the story a) lag, or b) seem rushed. It was always the perfect tempo, and the perfect plot. And the characters? Amazing! Over the course of this book the character development sky-rocketed. They were all so realistic and believable – and I loved them all! The plot was phenomenal… Non-stop action, relatable characters, and completely un-expected twists and turns, made it physically impossible for me to put this book down.

And if it wasn’t for the fact I was in the waiting room at the orthodontist’s office when I finished it, this book would have been thrown across the room with enough force to dent the wall. That is all I will say.

To Sum it up: This is one of the best books I have read in a long time, and I loved it. The writing was beautiful, and the story even more so. I would recommend it to 11+.

*A 6 out of 5 review? Yes I realize that doesn’t add up. Check out the My Rating System page for more information. :)

P.S. I read this book for the 2013 Feminist Reads Challenge

6 thoughts on “Prodigy – By Marie Lu

  1. AAGAHHHH!!! Wanna read this so bad!! There’s no excuse for why I haven’t bought this yet. I’m getting it tomorrow and I will read it. Deal. Love that your review is 6/5. SO EXCITED!

  2. I had this book on pre-order, and I didn’t even realize it was released until it landed on my doorstep! School has been taking over my life way too much, and I’m missing the release date of all these ah-mazing books. Seriously, not acceptable!

    But I’m glad that you enjoyed this one so much, Lynette. Two of my main issues with the first book of this series was that the plot was moving a little too fast, and that there was a lack of character development. I’m glad to see both have been resolved in this one! And I’m so curious to see what made you want to chuck this book across the room…

    Fabulous review, Lynette! I’m so excited to finally pick this book up. =)

    • Oh, I hate it when that happens! :( I’ve had to do that myself with a few books, it’s not fun.

      Yeah, I highly recommend this one (if that point hasn’t already come across.) The plot speed and character development really were pretty amazing. (Yay for no Middle-Book-Syndrome!).

      Thanks so much, Aneeqah! You’ll love it. :)

Leave a Reply

