The Lightning Thief Graphic Novel – By Rick Riordan

Cover and summary from Goodreads.com

Title: The Lightning Thief: Graphic Novel

Author: Rick Riordan. Adapter: Robert Venditti

Genre/Pages: Fantasy/128

Rating: ☆ (1 of 5)*

Summary: You’ve read the book. You’ve seen the movie. Now submerge yourself in the thrilling, stunning, and action-packed graphic novel.
Mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking out of the pages of twelve-year-old Percy Jackson’s textbooks and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’s master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now, he and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’s stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus.
Series creator Rick Riordan joins forces with some of the biggest names in the comic book industry to tell the story of a boy who must unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

My Review: This review can be summed up in 3 words: “I hated it”. End of story. Case Closed. Okay, okay, WHY did I hate this book, you ask? Well, simple. I read the real book first. Okay. Now I’m gonna be professional about why I hated this book.

First off, the plot line. It was butchered. There were huge gaps in which you know nothing about what just happened. I also notice that a lot of times, even when they didn’t have huge gaps, they changed it. Honestly, I wouldn’t say that Rick Riordan was the author. He wrote the original book. Robert Venditti wrote this book. Not Rick.

And, second of all, the characters. Annabeth Chase (stereo-typical looking California girl. AKA gorgeous) looked like a guy. Don’t even get me started on some of the other characters, either! The drawing overall just wasn’t very great. So, you might be thinking, “well, you’re just super picky because you read the real book first.” Well, that could be true, but I’ve read plenty of other reviews by people who now refuse to read the real book because they read this.

To Sum it up: This book wasn’t very well written, drawn, or thought out. Way to many huge inconsistencies. If you look at this book and think “ooh! I want to read that!” Read the real book. It’s so amazing, you just have to read it! :) Recommended age: No one.

*Remember, 1 star is an extremely rare review from me. I love almost every book I read. Which is actually why I threw this review in, for some variety. :)

Leave a Reply

