Hamlet – By William Shakespeare

Summary and image from goodreads.com

 

 Title: Hamlet (Shakespeare Made Easy)

Author: William Shakespeare

Genre/Pages: Historical Fiction/311

Rating: ★★★★☆ (4 of 5)

Summary: “Hamlet” is the story of the Prince of Denmark who learns of the death of his father at the hands of his uncle, Claudius. Claudius murders Hamlet’s father, his own brother, to take the throne of Denmark and to marry Hamlet’s widowed mother. Hamlet is sunk into a state of great despair as a result of discovering the murder of his father and the infidelity of his mother. Hamlet is torn between his great sadness and his desire for the revenge of his father’s murder.

My Review:  When young Prince Hamlet discovers his father’s death was not – as had been believed – of natural causes, but actually a murder, he gets mad. And begins to seek revenge. Pretending to be insane with grief over his father’s death and his mother’s hasty re-marriage, Hamlet plots a way to reveal his uncle’s crime, meanwhile Laertes challenges Hamlet to a duel. A duel with extremely weighted odds…

This is probably my favorite Shakespeare tragedy – it was just so amazing! I’m not sure what exactly it was about it that I liked so much, but I just found the whole book fascinating. I read the Shakespeare Made Easy version, which really was very enlightening. Some things I wouldn’t really understand normally, with the translation, made a lot more sense.

I think it was really the politics of it all, of revenge, of love, that made me like it so much, and of course, the corruption and under-handed-ness that went with being royal back then.

Truly a fascinating book! I loved the characters, and how Shakespeare wrote it all! He really pulls you into the story, and it’s quite an enjoyable read. It’s been said a million times, but I’ll say it again, he’s truly a master poet/dramatist/writer.

To Sum it up: I really liked this book, the politics of it all was really fascinating, and the story itself was really cool.  Just because, any younger, and a lot of stuff will be lost on them, I’d recommend this for a 12 + audience.

Leave a Reply

