Review: Day of Doom – By David Baldacci

 

Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.
Cover image and summary from goodreads.com. Image links to goodreads book page.

Title: Day of Doom (The 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers, #6)

Author: David Baldacci

Summary: The Ultimate Sacrifice
It started with a kidnapping. A shadowy organization known only as the Vespers snatched seven members of the Cahill family and demanded a series of bizarre ransoms from around the world. Thirteen-year-old Dan Cahill and his older sister Amy began a global treasure hunt, determined to bring back whatever Vesper One needed, so long as it kept the hostages safe.

But when they deliver the last ransom, Amy and Dan discover Vesper One’s terrifying endgame. The objects he demanded are vital pieces in a Vesper plot that will harm millions of innocent people. Now the two siblings and their friends are in an all-out sprint to stop Vesper One . . . before the whole world goes BOOM.

“Trust No One”- William McIntyre

Genre/Pages: YA Fiction/272

Rating: ★★★ (3.5 of 5)

My Review: I wish I could say that I loved this book. That it was amazing. One of the best books I’ve ever read.

But I just can’t. I didn’t love it. It wasn’t amazing, and it was far from one of the best books I’ve ever read. I didn’t dislike it, exactly, but I didn’t love it. The past fifteen (16?) books had been leading up to this moment, and it was just… a let down. Honestly, I was disappointed. I’d expected better.

In this latest installment you really just didn’t get any of the intense clue-solving or even the in-depth character relations we used to have. There was no major character development. Everything was so… simple, I guess, cliche, almost. It was fairly predictable, and just wasn’t as exciting, amazing, and fun as all the other books.

Despite all that, though, I really did like this book (I did give it 3.5 stars, after all). I’ve loved these characters for so long, and I really did enjoy the book. It had me on the edge of my seat at times, near tears at others. I was excited, scared, worried, happy, sad, but overall, I just got the impression that I was an outsider looking on, unlike other books were I’d been in the thick of the action. I just wasn’t… connected, in the same way.

Content Advisory: Some people die. Nothing graphic. 

To Sum it Up: A fun book full of action, excitement, and suspense, I do recommend reading this book. In all honesty, if you’ve already gotten 15 (or more) books in, I wouldn’t stop just because this one wasn’t 5-star. It was a good, fun book, and I liked it.

Have you heard of this book before? Have you read it? Did you like it? 

Leave a comment